JavascriptSome functions like the list of distilleries or production areas or the possibility to close the publicity areas do not work as Javascript is disabled.


enabled
Close
Close

Translation

Close
Si vous avez aimé ce site mais que vous avez horreur de la réclame, sachez que la publicité représente les seuls revenus de ce site, mis à part les donations. [an error occurred while processing this directive]

Is there an “art of drinking whisky”?

Français | English

Drinking whisky

Strictly speaking, there is no rule about how whisky can best be drunk. However, using some tasting techniques can considerably enhance the pleasure of drinking a dram.

Tips on this page are left for anyone to judge it for himself and the described ritual should not be considered to be a general rule. Even without following them, a good whisky can be appreciated...

A general remark however, whisky is like great wines: you have to enjoy it. Just like great wines, never put ice in a whisky. The purchase price, which is generally high, is mostly in direct relation with the pleasure you can get from enjoying it. If your goal is to get stoned, then it is better to go and drink something else, with the same effects, but cheaper and less complex.
See examples of tasting notes on the WDTS page (Whisky-Distilleries Tasting Sessions)


Caution

Having an occasional drink is fine, but if you're making it a thrice-daily habit, perhaps it's time for you to seek help for alcoholics, because that's what you're gradually turning into.

The glass

The glass that is traditionally called a "whisky glass" - tumbler is to ban in any case. This glass, with a wide opening and with a thick bottom is usually used to perpetrate the "lese-whisky" crime which consists of pouring the whisky on a bed of ice, and doing so, killing all fragrances which are the spirit of single malt whisky. This glass, due to its form, lets out all the fragrances. This glass is absolutely not suited to drink single malt, as the richness of the fragrances is the main characteristic of a good single malt.

Is there any point to drink whisky without any aroma? From my point of view, it would be better then to drink cheaper alcohol. But the tumbler is not the worse you could use. What would you think about the one under itt? It is designed to kill all fragrances, and to hide the colour. This is the summon of the crime. Why do whisky producers manipulate their alcohol so carefully, and why did they mature it so long...?

The shape and the colour of the glass are essential in the tasting of whisky. However, there is an exception to the rule. Coloured glasses are sometimes used in "blind tastings". One is not influenced by the colour in the evaluation of the quality of the whisky. But, even in this case, the shape of those glasses should definitively be avoided.


Verre ballonAs for Cognac, the glass contributes to the circulation of the fragrances. The traditional "Cognac glass" is never used by still men. Those glasses were invented by Americans to drink a French spirit. The traditional glass used by still men is figured on the right. The same shape of glasses is ideal for drinking whisky. It is the ideal glass, avoiding the loss of fragrances.

To be really perfect, this tulip-shaped glass can be covered with a glass top.

The ideal glass is figured beneath. It is possible to buy such a glass at some distilleries. Ardbeg and Glenmorangie sell them.
This glass is probably also available at local retailers.

Whisky: do's and don't's

Ice

Ice is to be avoided in any case. Ice neutralizes and kills almost all the aromas in the whisky, and anaesthetizes the papilla's.

Mixtures

A good whisky does not need any mixture to be appreciated. Additions of coke or any other kind of soda is to be avoided. The only liquid whisky can stand is water. Preferably fresh mineral water. Ideal would be to add the same water that was used during the distilling process. But this is nearly impossible ...

Water

Whisky is by definition a strong alcohol (between 40% and 60%). This high alcohol rate is difficult to appreciate by people who are not used to it. This can be considered as an aggression to the papilla's. Adding some fresh water softens the aggressive character of a strong alcohol.

But, even for people who are used to drink strong alcohols, adding a drop of fresh water will open up new horizons. Adding a drop of water will provoke a chemical reaction, freeing the fragrances. The whisky will "open" itself.

In the case of a "cask strength" (generally round 60%), adding water will make it possible to taste the whisky at different alcohol rates. The drinker is entitled to determine the best alcohol rate for himself. When he decides it has reached the ideal alcohol rate, he just can stop adding water.

Ideal tasting and nosing steps


1. Observe the colour

Pour the whisky in the glass, and examine the colour by looking at it in a perfectly clean glass in front of a light source. The colour tells something about the type of maturing casks and the age of whisky.

2. Observe the "legs" on the glass

After having looked at the colour, just gently swirl the whisky in the glass .After a while, you'll see some traces in it. The viscosity of the whisky provokes this traces, which are called "legs". The distance between the legs helps to determine the age of the whisky and the nature of the cask used for the maturation.

3. Taste whisky

Scotsmen say "tongue feel" for tasting the whisky. For this important step, just take a small quantity of whisky in your mouth, and hold it for 10 seconds at least. Swirl it gently in the mouth, and be sure it has "traveled" on the various parts of the tongue.

4. Smell the aromas

After having looked at its "legs" and "felt its taste" with the tongue, swirl the whisky in the glass again, and "nose" it by moving the glass under the nose, and breath normally. This operation reveals the most unexpected fragrances.

5. Free the bouquet

Now is the moment to add some water. There are different opinions about how much water should be added. Personally I just add one drop of water. This "opens" the whisky. After having done this, repeat steps 3 and 4 and reconsider the characteristics of the whisky after the addition of water.

6. Consider the finish

The length of the "finish" (the time the taste of whisky remains in your mouth) gives precious indications about the age of the whisky.

About tasting notes

Why writing tasting notes?

A good whisky provides intense pleasure that encourages to look for other comparable whiskys. The flavors are very subtle and intellectual effort to try to distinguish them can contribute to further increase the pleasure taken in a whisky tasting.
Often the pleasure experienced incites to try to find other whiskys with the same profile, or otherwise presenting a radically different profile. The best way to remember the impressions felt in the taste of a whisky is taking notes.
The tasting notes always express a personal feeling, which can vary from day to day depending on the circumstances.

Example of compared tastings

The blind tasting sessions organized by the site: WDTS (Whisky-Distilleries Tasting Sessions)

The forum associated with this site organizes regular sessions of blind tasting for its members. These tastings are based on whiskies sent by the producers. Per session, about twenty participants participate and write their own notes, without knowing which whisky they are reviewing. The results are extremely interesting.

These results are published on the site and a hit parade of the best tasted whiskies in this context is to be found on the following page:

WDTS, Hit-parade

> Le comptoir Sunday, 02-Apr-2017 12:33:26 CEST
Wed 28 06 2017, 07:23 - 2 visiteurs au cours de la dernire heure et 2 visiteurs sur le site en ce moment.
Copyright :Jean-Marie Putz (2003-2017)


Whisky is an alcoholic drink. Let's prefer quality to quantity as the abuse of alcohol beverages can damage the health. Consuming alcoholic drinks during pregnancy, even in small quantities, can seriously affect the health of the child. Consumption of alcohol impairs your ability to drive a car or operate machinery, and may cause health problems.

This site does not collect any private data from it's visitors. Is is purely static.

The tasting notes

The distilleries

The whisky

The production areas

WDTS: blind tasting sessions List of all distilleries How whisky is made Central Highlands, Eastern Highlands, Northern Highlands,Western Highlands
Recent tastings Distillery owners Whisky history Speyside
Visitors notes The independent bottlers All the bottles in collection Lowlands
Post your own notes The distilleries in their historical context By order of preference Islay
Interactive map of the distilleries By order of value for money Campbeltown
Copyright Contact Links The Isles
Close

JavaScript Logo Un certain nombre de fonctions comme la liste des distilleries ou des régions, ainsi que la possibilité de fermer les fenêtres publicitaires ne fonctionnent pas parce que JavaScript est désactivé.
enabled
Close
 
Close

Translation

Close
Si vous avez aimé ce site mais que vous avez horreur de la réclame, sachez que la publicité représente les seuls revenus de ce site, mis à part les donations.

De l'art de boire le whisky

English | Français

Boire le whisky

Il n'existe pas à proprement parler d'art de boire le whisky. Cependant, l'utilisation de certaines techniques de dégustation peuvent considérablement améliorer la perception du goût.
Les quelques conseils ci-après sont laissés à l'appréciation de tout un chacun, et le rituel décrit ne constitue en aucun cas une règle générale, sans laquelle un whisky ne peut être bu.
Une remarque générale cependant: tout comme un grand vin, un whisky single malt se déguste. Tout comme un grand vin, le whisky se boit sans glace... Le prix d'achat généralement élevé d'un bon whisky est en rapport direct avec le plaisir que donne sa dégustation. Si le but premier de la consommation est de se saoûler, il vaut beaucoup mieux se rabattre sur des alcools nettement moins chers et moins complexes.
Voir des exemples de notes de dégustation sur la page des WDTS (Whisky-Distilleries Tasting Sessions)


Le verre

TumblerLe verre qu'on nomme traditionnellement "verre à whisky" (tumbler en anglais) est à proscrire dans tous les cas. Ce verre large, ouvert à fond épais sert généralement au crime de lèse-whisky qui consiste à verser le liquide sur un fond de glaçons, et à tuer tous les arômes qui constituent l'essence même du single malt. Ce verre vu sa forme, laisse échapper tous les arômes. Or, un whisky sans arôme ne présente pas beaucoup d'intérêt. Il vaut alors mieux boire un alcool moins noble et par conséquent moins cher.

Verre à whisky couleurCependant, il y a pire que le verre représenté ci-dessus.
Le verre représenté ci-contre parachève le crime.... En plus de tuer tous les arômes, il masque en plus la couleur du whisky. C'est à se demander pourquoi les producteurs de whisky ont mis tant de temps et d'énergie à amener leur alcool à maturation.

On l'aura compris, la forme et la couleur du verre ont une importance primordiale dans la dégustation du whisky. Il existe cependant une exception à l'utilisation d'un verre coloré: en cas de dégustation à l'aveugle, un verre coloré évite de se laisser influencer par la couleur pour déguster. Mais dans ce cas, la forme du verre ci-dessus reste absolument à proscrire.


Verre à cognacVerre à cognacTout comme pour le Cognac, le verre doit contribuer à enfermer et faire circuler les arômes. Le verre-ballon généralement nommé "verre à Cognac" n'est jamais utilisé par les maîtres de chais. Il s'agit d'une invention américaine pour déguster un produit français. Le verre du maître de chais est représenté à droite. Le même type de verre est recommandé pour le whisky.

Le verre idéal permettant d'éviter une évaporation regrettable des arômes, l'adjonction d'un couvercle au verre-tulipe utilisé par les maîtres de chais constitue le nec plus ultra en matière de verres à whisky

Verre tulipeLe verre ci-contre est vraiment l'idéal, et on peut se le procurer à la distillerie Glenmorangie ou Ardbeg (les deux distilleries appartiennent au même propriétaire).
Ce genre de verre est également en vente chez certains cavistes.

A conseiller et à proscrire

Les glaçons

L'usage de glaçons est à proscrire à tout prix. Le glaçon a pour effet de neutraliser les arômes émanant du whisky et exerce un effet anesthésiant sur les papilles.

Les mélanges

Un bon whisky se suffit à lui-même. La fâcheuse habitude de vouloir ajouter du coca ou toute autre sorte d'autre soda est à proscrire. Le seul liquide qu'on peut ajouter à un single malt est l'eau. De préférence une eau minérale fraîche. L'idéal (difficilement réalisable en dehors de la distillerie même) est d'ajouter de l'eau de la source ayant servi à brasser le whisky...

L'eau

Par définition, le whisky est un alcool fort (entre 40% et 60%). Le taux d'alcool peut rebuter les personnes qui n'en ont pas l'habitude. Un alcool fort en bouche peut s'apparenter à une agression. L'ajout d'eau fraîche peut atténuer le caractère agressif d'un alcool fort.

Mais, même pour les palais rodés à l'absorption d'alcools forts, l'ajout d'une goutte d'eau fraîche dans le whisky ouvre de nouveaux horizons. L'ajout d'une goutte d'eau va entraîner une réaction chimique qui aura pour effet de libérer plus d'arômes. Le whisky va "s'ouvrir".

Dans le cas d'un "cask strength" (ou brut de fût), titrant généralement aux alentours de 60%, l'ajout d'eau permet de goûter le whisky à divers taux d'alcool plus acceptables. Quand le whisky a atteint le titrage d'alcool idéal, il suffit d'arrêter d'ajouter de l'eau...

Les étapes d'une dégustation de whisky idéale

1. Observer la couleur

Verser le whisky dans le verre, et examiner la couleur en tournant le verre parfaitement propre vers une source de lumière. La couleur donne des informations sur le type de fût dans lequel le whisky a vieilli, ainsi que sur son âge.

2. Observer les "larmes" sur le verre

Ensuite, il faut faire rouler le verre dans la main, ou agiter le verre dans un mouvement circulaire, et au bout de quelques secondes il se forme des traces à l'intérieur du verre. La viscosité du whisky est à l'origine de ces traces, qui portent le nom de "legs" en anglais. L'écart entre les jambes permet de déterminer le type de fûts utilisé ainsi que l'âge du whisky.

3. Goûter le whisky

Les écossais utilisent l'expression "tongue feel", ce qui signifie sentir avec la langue. L'opération consiste à prendre quelques gouttes en bouche, et de les y laisser 10 secondes, en faisant passer le whisky d'un bout à l'autre de la bouche, de façon à ce que le whisky passe sur les diverses zones de la langue.

4. Humer les arômes

Après avoir examiné les "jambes" et "touché son goût avec la langue", il faut réimprimer un mouvement circulaire au verre, et humer le whisky en déplaçant le verre sous le nez tout en respirant normalement. Ceci permet de détecter une foule d'odeurs les plus inattendues les unes que les autres.

5. Libérer le bouquet

A ce stade, il faut ajouter de l'eau. Les avis concernant la quantité d'eau à utiliser divergent, mais pour ma part une seule goutte suffit. Ceci permet de libérer le bouquet du whisky. Après cette opération, il faut recommencer les étapes 3 et 4 et réévaluer les caractéristiques après avoir ajouté de l'eau.

6. Evaluer la "finale"

La longueur de la finale (le temps que le goût du whisky avalé reste en bouche) donne également de précieuses indications sur l'âge du whisky.

Des notes de dégustation

Pourquoi rédiger des notes de dégustation?

Un bon whisky procure un intense plaisir qui incite à chercher d'autres whiskies comparables. Les arômes sont très subtiles, et un effort intellectuel pour essayer de les distinguer peut contribuer à augmenter encore le plaisir retiré d'une dégustation de whisky.
Bien souvent le plaisir éprouvé incite à essayer de trouver d'autres whiskies présentant le même profil, ou au contraire présentant un profil radicalement différent. Le meilleur moyen de se souvenir des impressions ressenties à la dégustation d'un whisky est la prise de notes.
Les notes de dégustation expriment toujours un ressenti personnel, qui peut varier d'un jour à l'autre selon les circonstances.

Exemple de dégustations comparées

Les dégustations à l'aveugle organisées par le site: WDTS (Whisky-distilleries Tasting Sessions)

Le forum associé à ce site organise des sessions régulières de dégustation à l'aveugle pour ses membres. Ces dégustations sont basées sur des whiskies envoyés par les producteurs. Par session, une vingtaine de participants participent et rédigent leurs propres notes, sans savoir de quel whisky il s'agit. Les résultats sont extrêmement intéressants.

Ces résultats sont publiés sur le site et un hit-parade des meilleurs whisky dégustés dans ce cadre se trouve à la page suivante:

WDTS, hit-parade

Last modified: January 04 2014 16:30:32.
-
Copyright :Jean-Marie Putz (2003-2014)

Le whisky est un alcool fort, ne l'oublions pas. L'abus d'alcool peut gravement nuire à la santé. Sachons privilégier la qualité par rapport à la quantité. La consommation de boissons alcoolisées pendant la grossesse, même en faible quantité, peut avoir des conséquences graves pour la santé de l'enfant. De même évitez de prendre le volant après avoir consommé du whisky.

Protection de la vie privée: Ce site ne collecte aucune donnée privée. Il est purement statique.

Les notes de dégustation

Les distilleries

Le whisky

Les régions

WDTS: blind tasting sessions Liste de toutes les distilleries La fabrication du whisky Central Highlands , Eastern Highlands, Northern Highlands, Western Highlands
Dégustations récentes Propriétaires des distilleries L'histoire du whisky Speyside
Notes des visiteurs Les indépendants Liste des bouteilles en collection Lowlands
Envoyer vos propres notes Les distilleries dans leur contexte historique Par ordre de préférence Islay
Forum Carte interactive des distilleries Par rapport qualité/prix Les Iles
Copyright Contact Liens Campbeltown
Close