[an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive]
-->
[an error occurred while processing this directive]
enabled
[an error occurred while processing this directive]
Close
[an error occurred while processing this directive]
Close
[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Translation [an error occurred while processing this directive]

Close
[an error occurred while processing this directive]

"Whisky-Distilleries (blind) Tasting Sessions"

Glendronach

Français | English

Glendronach

For Belgium (the Nectar)

Age
19 years
Alcohol percentage
50,4 %
Bottler
Official
Cask
PX Sherry pucheon
Cask number
single cask 3181
Dates
Distil: 15-11-1991 Bottling: 03-2011
Bottle
215 of 622 btls
Particularity
Non chillfiltered cask strength
=25 euros=25 euros=25 euros=25 euros=25 euros=25 euros
links & average quote
WDTS2011-03 88/100

Tasting detail data

Highest rate 94/100
Lowest rate 78/100
Difference 16
Average 87,83

Appreciation

Total number of tasters 24
Excellent 5
Very good 11
Good 7
Medium 1
Bad 0
Glendronach for the Nectar

Colour: Most beautiful dark mahogany. Nearly black tea.
Nose: The first sniff suggests real great stuff in the glass. Sherry or some dark port cask, but not the usual rubber-fruitcake. Leaves plenty of room for other impressions: Waldmeister, dried dates, honey, walnuts and, very pleasant, a soft peat note, reminding here of wet moss in the forest. Great complexity. I once had a very old Cuban rum with a nose like that.
Taste: The sherry hits the stage clearly, but very balanced harmonising with the alcohol (I guess more than 40% but I do not dare to add water here, this perfect balance could be disturbed). Now we have also dark chocolate, mocha and nougat praliné, (not the cheap sweet ones, no, from the best confiserie...), liquorice and nice wooden notes toward the never ending
Finish: I have to repeat, very complex and balanced. The sherry is still present here, but again perfectly mixing with coffee, toffee and the other fine wooden (soft peat?) notes.
Conclusion: I am not too much into sherry finishing usually, but this dram proves me totally wrong. A real treat. From the beginning to the last coffee - fruit trace on the palate.
Guesswork: I do not usually play in this league of great whiskies, this might be a Macallan or Aberlour or such, easily more than 15 years old. So my price indication is relative high rated, if I am wrong here, I will get me a bottle immediately....
94/100

Colour : Polished mahogany.
Nose : Rich and enticing. The perfect mix between fruits, wood, and (oloroso?) sherry. Dry fruits (walnut marzipan, sultanas) and cooked fruits (all kind of “dark” jams such as figs or black cherries). Some roasting aromas too (coffee liqueur). Reminds me of a “Black Russian” (Kahlua and Vodka). Nothing sluggish though, thanks to a rancio-like tangy note, like in a high end Madeira. Perhaps a little ripe pomegranate as well? I really like it, but will the mouth follow the nose?
Mouth: Yup it does! Dry fruits are on the foreground, and it’s as tasty as a hazelnut liqueur, accompanied by some tantalizing cocoa flavours. Enhanced by a slight woody sourness, it’s as waxy and creamy as in a dream. Like drinking spoonfuls of maple syrup. We’re probably pretty close to 55%, but the balance is fantastic. The rise of a hint of burnt wood brings some more complexity to this absolutely delightful malt.
Finish: Long and tasty, it vanishes on a subtle woody bitterness.
Comment: No need to say, when the right malt meets the right cask for the right period of time, there is reason to bring you back with the whole world!
93/100

Nose: raspberry liqueur, raisins, pastry so baba au rhum, slightly spicy pepper and ginger. No astringency, as subtle and pleasant fragrance of a whisky aged in sherry. Beautiful mature nose I give it in 30 years and even more.
Mouth of the sweetness, the alcohol is well integrated, all the qualities of a good sherry are present, dried fruits (figs and prunes), chocolate, coffee bean is added to this feast of the taste buds orange marmalade, which gives it a sweet / sour side.
The finish is very long, slightly woody.
Sublime moment.
92/100

Nose: Caramel, mocha, coffee, rum / raisin, lemon, orange, leather car and listed animal. Nice balance with well integrated alcohol. Very nice.

Taste: Coffee, rancio, rum / raisin, orange, light bitterness and alcohol well integrated.

Finale: Rum / raisin, orange, mocha, coffee, light tannins.
After cooling, the appearance of citrus.
The finish is very long.

Still a very nice sherry monster. I love it. Just missing a bit of complexity.
91/100

Color: orange almost mahogany.
Nose: ouch! big sherry! it focused! on cognac, spices: cloves, cumin, balsamic vinegar, almond liqueur too. The nose is rather old school, it reminds me of Glenfarclas 25 years 75cl bottle square, with its vegetal overtones . I find it rather complex.
Taste: Re-ouch! It's strong! At the same level as the nose, or even more! It should be around 60 degrees there. So of course we are on the sherry. It's hot, it's rich, it was the oyster sauce, a little mint, camphor and also a tad of smoke. But the spotlight returned to coffee, dark chocolate, prunes, dates, and also spices, cloves and again maybe a little cinnamon. For me, it's good!
Finish: Long, on sherry, spices and a bit dusty.
91/100

Nose: Dry Fruits, nuts, Porto. Quite complex.
Palate: Very fruity, clean attack on the walnuts and dry raisins.
Finish: long on nuts and Porto.
Whisky greedy, well-balanced.
90/100

Colour: dark amber
The nose evokes polish plus a dusty side. and almost winey tannins. Marking the sherry is almost too hard ( first fill cask?). This is reflected by its sherry fresh caramel and bitter dark chocolate side.. The hint of alcohol brings notes neoprene glue.
The palate is about alcohol but it melts quickly in the aromas on the nose already received. The texture is too dusty, like taking a spoonful of chocolate powder in the mouth. Good consistent nose / mouth dark chocolate bitterness.
The finish is medium / long on bitter chocolate and a little savory.
90/100

appearance:
medium to dark amber, wide legs flowing moderately fast
nose:
moderate to strong intensity (increases while breathing), alcohol is well integrated, monolithic at the beginning with dried fruit (dates, figs) and mild spices, opens well at breathing with cloves, minty freshness and young balsamic vinegar adding
Taste:
moderate intensity, creamy, sweet / sour mixture, the aromas of the nose are found more or less but the overall impression leans more towards a dry sherry then to a sweet sherry as on the nose
finish:
medium to long
With water:
the nose is more on stewed fruit as on dried fruits, taste is almost identical, a little bit more cloves
conclusion:
Very sherried whisky that opens well while breathing. I like this style.
90/100

Nose: Sweet, on rum, raisins, figs and candied oranges arrive, the quince, vanilla. In the end, a slight smell of undergrowth.
Taste: At first glance, a sweet sensation, sweetness and alcohol arrives but well integrated. The sherry, orange liqueur and chocolate and spices. Appears slightly oaky finish.
Finale: Medium, the rum and raisins, but with a slight bitterness on the palate.
89/100

Nose: Intensely marked by wood and wine (type in PX sherry, port), concentrated red and black fruit, caramel, toffee, chocolate, dried fruits (apricots, figs, dates), beautiful oak vanilla, fresh vegetal peak (almost mint, anise), gingerbread.

Taste: Powerful, warm, comforting, delicious jammy fruit (red and black fruits, citrus fruits), Sevillanas (orange cake), gingerbread, precious wood (cedar) and various spices, vegetable bitterness, nice length, only a touch of astringency waste a little party.

A great "sherry monster" whisky, expressive, rich and warm.
89/100

Amber color.
Rich nose, alcohol appears a bit. notes winy, sweet, "fat". Sherry (plums, spices, dried fruits, wood). Rancio. Chocolate. Some fruits in the background.
Soft palate dominated by wood. Caramel, some oranges.
Finish: rather long, very intense, dominated by wood, which gives a slight astringency.
A sherry monster, perhaps a little too woody.
88/100

Color: Amber
Nose: sherry and lots of sweetness. Tons of raisins, candied orange peel, the acidity of the balsamic vinegar, a touch of rubber and cloves, and nuts, dried apples and coffee liqueur. It was first found to be more aggressive in the second tasting, then calms down. Organic notes black mushrooms have been found since the first tasting.
Palate: The attack is frank and powerful. Texture, neither too fluid nor too oily, is nice. The aromas developed are those of a classic sherry. Raisins and rubber yet, but it is well controlled. The most notable difference from the nose is the appearance of dry wood notes and especially organic black mushrooms nice touch.
Finish: Long, it develops a nice bitterness and a slight astringency Chocolate Milkshake.

Conclusion: A beautiful sherry cask, but traditional class. However, it lacks a bit of magic in the mouth to claim access to the highest podium
88/100

N: sherry present but not dominant note of bitter orange, balanced point of sulfur and gunpowder not unpleasant and delicate notes of bergamot and rose, tobacco chocolate meat broth as well now, very gently.
B: Nice amplitude and strengh and dark chocolate meat broth, great, then come and floral notes, a little less complex than the nose
F: long balanced cocoa brown tobacco and sandalwood
88/100

Colour : Bronze

Nose : A nice smell of dried fruits (datte, prune, apricot), a little wood varnish and some alcohol. Above this, bitter orange, maraschino. We then smell a nice minty freshness. It's round, rich. With air, we then find some vegetable soup side (carrot). No doubt about the sherry in this bottle. A little sulfur, but no problem. A little honey, some spices and wax. It is very nice. Complex and satisfying.

Mouth : We start with wood varnish, bitter orange and wax. It is very good, very dynamic. The mouth lasts ont carrot soup. Dried fruits are also present, especially a very nice sugary apricot. The alcohol, well integrated, gives consistency to the dram. it is not weak but rightly stinging. There again some sulfur, but still no problem. In the end, some woody bitterness.

Finale : Long, warming, fruity.

Conclusion : A very good whisky, rich and savoury. It's fresh and complex at the same time. It's powerful but yet not agressive. It's sweet, a little bitter and very rich.
88/100

Color: Brown
A mixture of sherry and spices characterizes the nose. It is also not a surprise, given the color of the whisky one could hardly expect anything else than a true sherry monster. Beyond the sherry we feel some subtle notes of musty, damp mold on a ripe lime. Everything is very nice. After a few minutes, the spices seem to dominate slightly sherry.
In the mouth we are dealing with a nice complexity. All the traditional notes of sherry are included. Plum jam, coffee, and some fruity notes. Without being very complex, this whisky is nevertheless very pleasant. The slight lack of complexity is compensated by a very nice balance.
Long and warm, the finish is a bit more exuberant than the mouth. Here the fruity notes dominate and impressions are clearly more complex than what we were offered by the mouth.
A beautiful final all in roundness.
87/100

The nose is powerful, and develops aromas of caramel, varnish, chocolate powder, fruits cake and a little dried meat?
The mouth is hot, on caramel and chocolate.
The finale is long on spicy caramel.
A powerful malt, which lacks a bit of complexity.
87/100

Colour: Dark bronze
Nose: Caramel, charred wood, vanilla, nutmeg, cinnamon, oranges, liquorice... Amazing nose, I've spend a lot of time enjoying this one, very intense and greatly balanced.
I need some time for this... Oh yeah...
Taste: Very smooth, caramel meeting up with vanilla, getting some woody spicy notes e.g. peppery and some very dark chocolate (sweetness as before but still bitter, ooh ah.).
Ending: Not bad... Not as long as the nose(there is still something in my glass haha, I'll enjoy after the ending)...but still there are a lot of flavours to be overwhelmed with, like caramel, oak(sweet), vanilla in the background, toffee and also some liquorice but anyway the nose exceeds the ending by far... Good thing I've saved some...

87/100

Color: Teak.
Nose: first red fruit nose and then quickly switched to dried fruit. Consistent with the time to blend in rose jam.
The water heightens the nose, but makes it more sharp without going to the aggression, however.
Taste: A nice harmony throughout, to the point that it is difficult to speak of attack. Dried fruit, leather, coffee bean, a little astringency slightly ashy.
The addition of water rounds and harmonises the mouth while preserving personality.
Finale: In the wake of the mouth.
Adding water makes the final more evident. Including the end of the ash reveals slightly astringent.

Comment: definitely a sherry profile but dry, crisp, almost harsh, austere limits. More intellectual than seductive whisky.

86/100

NOSE: as for sample 2, one would expect sherry given the color . It also confirmed, albeit much less attractive because much more about the notes confining to sulfur and vinegar. Not to my taste unfortunately. Hints of green herbs / bitter sometimes arise quietly. Chalky.

Palate: oily texture, very sweet, much better than the nose, even if a little sage. One feels a certain complexity, but it's very very nested and thus difficult to discriminate. We found a powdery / chalky side. A touch of the exotic but too timid. It is not bad anyway!

FINAL: medium, ripe banana too ... and a little salt.

Often, I prefer the sherry on the palate than nose. Here is the case for significantly better in the mouth, but it lacks a little something ....
86/100

Color: amber / copper
Nose definitely sherry. Less exuberant in flavor than the sample 2 for comparison. Alcohol is very present, and is all too apparent. Otherwise, it starts very hard on the warm honey. The smell of nearly rotten plums are introduced with little red wine.
With wet cardboard thereafter, newspaper and coffee also. I may say coffee spilled on newsprint:). With the aeration, it gets a little dusty. With water, it becomes woody (seasoned). And honey is always present.
Mouth a little rough, spicy and acidic. Very sherry as well Still the honey but more discreet and the newsprint-stained. coffee. It becomes bitter and woody in the background.
Piquant, long finish. Always drawn to the honey that I had found at the nose. The bitterness continues to be present on the back of the palate, but it is not excessive. With the addition of water, it is really more spicy. Back stitching on the inside of the cheeks is clearly identifiable.


Comment: I liked the sherry. But I much preferred the sample 2 by the explosion of flavors. It will remain more discreet and less ample. I regret just a little disturbing spice on the nose. Otherwise, a good whisky:)
85/100

Nose: Beautifull dark sherry. Fruits, prune, dates, dried grapes. Nice sweetness.
Mouth: dark sherry, fruity, acid drops. Some dried fruits. Prune, dates. Nice.
The final is slightly acid, identical.
85/100

Color: orange Auburn
Nose: Liquid caramel, vanilla bourbon difficult. Brown sugar. Very delicious without being too nauseating. After a few days, is more sherry. Currants, walnuts, balsamic.
Taste: Despite what the nose promised, it's pretty dry but sweet. Slight bitterness.
Final: The bitterness is still there. A little vanilla. Ladyfingers soaked in coffee, tiramisu, cream. Aeration underlines the fruity dram with this very sweet cherry.

Comments: It is dry but may be too close to an old rum distilled from molasses, the range of scents and tastes really makes me think Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva a sound, without the heavy and sweet. And it is precisely that side with my favorite kind of flavors ...
84/100

The nose is grassy, with pleasant flavours of custard and sherry. With a suitable capacity and properly integrated with an alcohol, the nose also offers discreet notes of honey. Aeration highlights the chocolate with a hint of salt and a little hazelnut, caramel and coffee. This is nice, but not more.

The palate is grassy. Then, quickly, in a syrupy or granular warmth, liquid chocolate just dominate the whole. It's not bad, but linear. A touch of alcohol on the finish shows an average integration. Aeration softens the whole, which remains dominated by this grass / chocolate balance, even if one sees a little sherry and oilseeds.

The final average is on chocolate, liqueur this time, with a touch of warm spice. Very concentrated, it then evolves to the chili.

In conclusion, a whisky pleasant to drink, but technically limited.
82/100

Color: Amber
Nose: very marked by the barrel, lacking balance and freshness.
winy notes and resinous, caramel, dried fruit and nuts.
Water brings out the wood and varnish.
Palate: woody with this resin and a significant astringency.
Same flavors as the nose: caramel, nuts, sugar and dried fruit.
The water does not help, sherry aged in a whisky cask?
Long finish on the flavors of the mouth.

78/100
[an error occurred while processing this directive]
[an error occurred while processing this directive]
[an error occurred while processing this directive]
[an error occurred while processing this directive]

[an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive] [an error occurred while processing this directive]
-->
[an error occurred while processing this directive]
enabled
[an error occurred while processing this directive]
Close
[an error occurred while processing this directive]
Close
[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Translation [an error occurred while processing this directive]

Close
[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Les dégustations à l'aveugle "Whisky-Distilleries Tasting Sessions"

Springbank

English | Français

Glendronach

For Belgium (the Nectar)

Age
19 ans
Taux d'alcool
50,4 %
Embouteilleur
Officiel
Fût
PX Sherry pucheon
Numéro fût
single cask 3181
Dates
Distill: 15-11-1991 Embout: 03-2011
Bouteille
215 de 622 btls
Particularité
Brut de fût non filtré à froid
=25 euros=25 euros=25 euros=25 euros=25 euros=25 euros
liens et cote moyenne
WDTS2011-03 88/100

Details de la dégustation

Cote maximum 94/100
Cote minimum 78/100
Ecart 16
Moyenne 87,83

Appréciation

Nombre total de dégustateurs 24
Excellent 5
Très bon 11
Bon 7
Moyen 1
Mauvais 0
Glendronach for the Nectar

Couleur: Très bel acajou foncé. Presque thé noir.
Nez: Le premier contact olfactif suggère une réellement belle grande substance dans le verre. Sherry cask ou certains portos noir, mais pas l'habituel en caoutchouc gâteau aux fruits. Laisse beaucoup de place pour d'autres impressions: Waldmeister, dattes séchées, miel, noix et, très agréable, une note douce de tourbe, rappelant ici la mousse humide dans la forêt. Une grande complexité. Une fois, j'ai eu un rhum très vieux cubain avec un nez comme ça.
Goût: Le xérès domine clairement s'harmonise de façon très équilibrée avec l'alcool (je suppose que ce whiksy titre plus de 40%, mais je n'ose pas ajouter de l'eau ici, ce parfait équilibre pourrait être perturbé). Maintenant nous avons du chocolat noir, du moka et du nougat praliné, (pas les bon marché doucereux, non, celui des meilleures confiseries) de la réglisse, et de belles notes de bois qui semblent ne pas finir.
Finition: je dois répéter, très complexe et équilibré. Le xérès est toujours présent ici, mais là encore parfaitement intégré avec le mélange avec du café, caramel et les autres notes de bois fin (tourbe légère?).
Conclusion: je ne suis pas trop amateur des finitions Sherry habituellement, mais ce dram m'a prouvé que j'avais tort. Un vrai régal. Depuis le début jusqu'à la dernière note de café - traces de fruits en bouche.

Je n'ai pas l'habitude jouer dans cette ligue de grands whiskies, cela pourrait être un Macallan ou Aberlour ou quelque chose du genre, facilement plus de 15 ans. Donc, mon indication de prix est relativement élevé nominale, si je me trompe ici, je vais me chercher une bouteille immédiatement ....
94/100

Couleur : Acajou poli.
Nez : Riche et envoûtant. La parfaite fusion du fruit, du bois, et du sherry (oloroso ?). Des fruits secs (pâte de noix, raisin sec) et des fruits cuits (confiture de figue, confiture de cerise noire). Pas mal d’arômes de torréfaction également (liqueur de café). Evoque un "Black Russian" (Kahlua et Vodka). Aucune lourdeur grâce à une note acidulée qui me renvoi au rancio d’un très bon Madère. Peut-être même un peu de grenade mûre ? J’adore, mais la bouche va-t-elle suivre ?
Bouche : Eh oui ! Elle suit ! Dominée par les fruits secs, elle est aussi savoureuse qu’une liqueur de noisettes, accompagnée de merveilleuses notes cacaotées. Rehaussée d’une petite acidité boisée, elle est cireuse et crémeuse à souhait. J’ai l’impression de boire du sirop d’érable à la petite cuillère. Les 55% ne doivent pas être loin, mais l’équilibre est spectaculaire. La montée d’une note de bois brûlé en deuxième partie de bouche ne fait qu’apporter de la complexité à ce malt décidément terriblement réjouissant.
Finale : Longue et savoureuse, elle s’évanouit sur une fine amertume boisée.
Commentaire : Y’a pas à dire, quand le bon malt rencontre le bon fût pendant la bonne durée, y’a de quoi vous réconcilier avec le monde entier.
93/100

Nez : Alcool de framboise, raisin sec, pâtissier façon baba-au-rhum, légèrement épicé poivre et gingembre. Aucune astringence, que des senteurs subtiles et agréables d’un whisky vieilli en fût de sherry. Très belle maturité, au nez je lui donne dans les 30 ans voir plus.
Bouche : De la douceur, l’alcool est très bien intégré, toutes les qualités d’un très bon sherry sont présentes, fruits secs (figues et pruneaux), chocolat, grain de café vient s’ajouter à cette fête des papilles de la marmelade d’orange qui lui donne un coté doux/amer.
La finale est très longue légèrement boisé.
Sublime moment.
92/100

Nez : Caramel, moka, café, rhum/raisin, citron vert, orange, cuir de voiture et coté animal. Belle balance avec un alcool bien intégré. Très agréable.

Bouche : Café, rancio, rhum/raisin, orange, légère amertume et alcool bien intégré.

Finale : Rhum/raisin, orange, moka, café, léger tannins.
Après aération, apparition d'agrumes.
La finale est très longue.

Encore un très beau sherry monster. J'adore. Manque juste un peu de complexité.
91/100

Couleur: orange presque acajou.
Nez: ouch! gros sherry! c'est concentré!
sur le cognac, des épices: girofle, cumin, vinaigre balsamique, de la liqueur d'amande aussi. Un nez plutôt old school, ça me fait penser à du Glenfarclas 25 ans bouteille carrée 75cl, avec ses notes "légumeuses". Je le trouve plutôt complexe.
Bouche: Re-ouch! C'est costaud! A la hauteur du nez, voire même plus! On doit avoisiner les 60° là. Alors bien sur on est sur le sherry. C'est chaud, c'est riche, on a de la sauce d'huître, un peu de menthe, du camphre aussi et un chouya de fumée. Mais la part belle revient au café, au chocolat noir, de la prune, des dattes et également des épices, à nouveau la girofle et peut être même un peu de cannelle. Pour ma part, c'est bon!
Finale: Longue, sur le sherry, les épices et un brin poussiéreuse.
91/100

Nez : Fruits sec, noix, Porto. Assez complexe.
Palais : Très fruité, attaque franche sur les cerneaux de noix et le raisin sec.
Finale : longue sur les fruits secs et le Porto.
Un whisky gourmand, bien balancé.
90/100

Couleur ambre foncé
Le nez évoque l’encaustique avec en plus un côté poussiéreux et vineux presque tannique. Le marquage par le fût de sherry est presque trop fort (fût de premier remplissage ?). Ce sherry se retrouve par son caramel et son chocolat noir amer. La pointe d’alcool amène des notes de colle Néoprène.
L’attaque en bouche se fait sur l’alcool mais cela se fond rapidement dans les arômes déjà perçus au nez. La texture est bien trop poussiéreuse, comme si on prenait une cuillère de chocolat en poudre dans la bouche. Bonne cohérence nez/bouche : chocolat noir et amertume.
La finale est moyenne/longue sur le chocolat amer et un peu sapide.
90/100

Aspect: ambre moyen à foncé, larges jambes qui s'écoulent moyennement vite
Nez: intensité moyenne à forte (s'accentue à l'aération), alcool bien intégré, début assez monolithique sur les fruits secs (dattes, figues) et les épices doux, s'ouvre bien à l'aération avec du clou de girofle, de la fraîcheur mentholée et du jeune vinaigre balsamique qui s'ajoutent
Bouche: intensité moyenne, crémeuse, mélange aigre / doux, les arômes du nez se retrouvent en grandes lignes mais l'impression générale penche plus vers un sherry sec que vers un sherry doux comme au nez
Finale: moyenne à longue
Avec eau: au nez les fruits sont plus des fruits compotés que des fruits secs, bouche identique mis à part que le clou de girofle ressort un petit peu plus
Conclusion:
Un whisky très typé sherry qui s'ouvre bien à l'aération. J'aime bien ce style.
90/100

Nez: Sucré, sur le rhum, raisins, figues puis arrive les oranges confites, la coing, la vanille. A la fin, une légère odeur de sous-bois.
Bouche: De prime abord, une sensation sucrée, de douceur puis l'alcool arrive mais bien intégré. Sur le sherry, la liqueur d'orange puis le chocolat et les épices. Un léger boisé apparaît en fin de bouche.
Finale: Moyenne, sur le rhum et raisins mais avec une légère amertume au palais.
89/100

Nez: Intensément marqué par le bois et le vin (typé sherry PX, porto), concentré de fruits rouges et noirs, caramel, toffee, chocolat, fruits secs (abricots, figues, dattes), beau boisé vanillé, pointe végétale fraîche (presque menthe, anis), pain d'épices.

Bouche : Puissante, chaude, réconfortante, délicieux fruité confituré (fruits rouges et noirs, agrumes), Sévillan (gâteau à l'orange), pain d'épices, bois précieux (cèdre) et épices variées, pointe d'amertume végétale, belle longueur, seule une pointe d'astringence gâche un peu la fête.

Un excellent whisky "sherry monster", expressif, riche, chaleureux.
89/100

Robe ambrée.
Nez riche, l'alcool ressort un peu. Notes vineuses, sucrées, "grasses". Du sherry (prunes, épices, fruits secs, bois). Rancio. Chocolat. Un peu de fruits en arrière plan.
Bouche douce, dominée par le bois. Caramel, un peu d'oranges.
Finale assez longue, assez intense, dominée par le bois qui apporte une légère astringence.
Un sherry monster, peut-être un peu trop boisé.
88/100

Couleur : Ambré
Nez : Du sherry et beaucoup de douceur. Des tonnes de raisins secs, des écorces d'orange confites, l'acidité du vinaigre balsamique, un soupçon de caoutchouc et de clou de girofle, puis des noix, des pommes séchées et de la liqueur de café. Il s'est d'abord révélé plus agressif lors de la seconde dégustation, avant de se radoucir. Des notes organiques de champignons noirs se sont révélées depuis la première dégustation.
Bouche : L'attaque est franche et puissante. La texture, ni trop fluide, ni trop grasse est agréable. Les arômes développés sont ceux d'un sherry classique. Raisins secs et caoutchouc encore, mais ce dernier est bien maîtrisé. La différence la plus notable par rapport au nez est l'apparition d'un boisé sec et surtout de notes organiques de champignons noirs bien agréables.
Finale : Longue, elle développe une belle amertume cacaotée ainsi qu'une légère astringence.

Conclusion : Un beau sherry cask, classique mais classe. Il lui manque toutefois un brin de magie en bouche pour prétendre accéder aux plus hautes marches du podium
88/100

N : sherry présent mais pas dominant, note d'orange amère, équilibré, pointe de soufre et poudre à canon pas désagréable, puis délicate note de bergamote et de rose, tabac chocolat noir bouillon de viande bien présent aussi, beaucoup de douceur.
B : Belle amplitude et puissance, sur le chocolat noir le bouillon de viande, superbe, puis vienne les note florales, un peu moins complexe que le nez
F : longue équilibré sur le cacao le tabac brun et le bois de Santal
88/100

Couleur : Bronze

Nez : Une belle odeur de fruits secs (datte, pruneau, abricot), un peu de vernis à bois et un peu d'alcool. De l'orange amère par dessus, marasquin.
On poursuit ensuite avec une jolie fraîcheur mentholée. C'est rond, c'est gourmand. Avec l'aération, on passe sur un côté légumique (carotte).
Pas de doute sur le sherry de ce whisky. Un peu de soufre, mais rien de grave. Un peu de miel, d'épices et de cire. C'est très joli. C'est complexe et satisfaisant.

Bouche : On commence sur le vernis à bois, l'orange amère et la cire. C'est très bon, très dynamique. La bouche se prolonge un peu sur la soupe de légumes.
Les fruits secs sont également présents, notamment l'abricot, un peu sucré.
L'alcool, bien intégré, donne de la consistance au dram. Ce n'est pas faible, c'est piquant comme il faut.
Là encore, un peu de soufre, mais toujours pas de problème.
En finale, une petite amertume boisée.

Finale : Longue, chaleureuse, fruitée.

Conclusion : Un très bon whisky, riche et savoureux. C'est frais et complexe à la fois. C'est puissant sans être agressif. C'est doux, un peu boisé et très gourmand.
88/100

Couleur: Brun
Un mélange de sherry et d'épices caractérise ce nez. Ce n'est d'ailleurs pas une surprise, vu la couleur de ce whisky on pouvait difficilement s'attendre à autre chose qu'à un véritable sherry monster. Au-delà du sherry on sent quelques discrètes notes de renfermé, moisissure humide sur un mûr de chaux. Le tout est très agréable. Au bout de quelques minutes, les épices semblent dominer légèrement le sherry.
En bouche nous avons affaire à une belle complexité. Toutes les notes traditionnelles du sherry sont bien présentes. La confiture de prunes, le café, et quelques notes fruitées. Sans être très complexe, ce whisky n'en demeure pas moins très agréable. Le léger manque de complexité est compensé par un très bel équilibre.
Longue et chaude, la finale est un peu plus exubérante que la bouche. Ici les notes fruitées dominent clairement et les impressions sont plus complexes que ce que nous a offert la bouche.
Une finale magnifique, toute en rondeur.
87/100

Le nez est puissant, il dévoile des notes de caramel, vernis, chocolat en poudre, cake aux fruits secs, un petit côté viande séchée ?
La bouche est gourmande, chaude, caramel/chocolat.
La finale est longue sur le caramel épicé.
Un malt puissant, efficace, à qui il manque un brin de complexité.
87/100

Couleur: bronze foncé
Nez: Caramel, bois carbonisé, vanille, muscade, cannelle, oranges, réglisse ... Incroyable nez, J'ai passé beaucoup de temps à profiter de celui-ci, très intense et très équilibré.
J'ai besoin de temps pour cela ... Oh yeah ...
Bouche: Très douce, caramel àse mêlant à la vanille, quelques notes épicées boisées et poivrés et un peu de chocolat très foncé (douceur comme avant, mais toujours amer, ah ooh.).
Fin: Pas mal ... Pas tant que le nez (il ya toujours quelque chose dans mon verre haha, dont je vais profiter après la fin) ... mais il ya encore beaucoup de saveurs qui vont submerger, comme le caramel, le chêne (douce), la vanille en arrière-plan, le caramel et la réglisse aussi mais de toute façon le nez dépasse la fin de loin ... Heureusemetn que j'en ai gardé un peu...


87/100

Robe : Teck.
Nez : 1er nez sur des fruits rouges puis très vite bascule sur des fruits secs. S’harmonise avec le temps pour se fondre en confiture de rose.
L’eau avive ce nez, mais le rend plus pointu, sans allez jusqu’à l’agressivité toutefois.
Bouche : Une belle harmonie tout du long, au point qu’il est difficile de parler d’attaque. Fruits secs, cuir, grain de café, un peu d’astringence légèrement cendrée.
L’ajout d’eau arrondit et harmonise cette bouche tout en préservant sa personnalité.
Finale : Dans le prolongement de la bouche.
L’ajout d’eau rend cette finale plus évidente. Notamment la fin qui révèle de la cendre légèrement astringente.

Commentaire : Un profil indéniablement sherry mais plutôt sec, craquant, presque âpre, limite austère. Un whisky plus intellectuel que séducteur.
86/100

NEZ: comme pour le sample 2, on pouvait s’attendre à du sherry vu la couleur. C’est également confirmé, même si c’est nettement moins séduisant car bien d’avantage sur des notes limite soufrées et vinaigrées. Pas à mon gout malheureusement. Des notes d’herbes vertes/amères surgissent parfois discrètement. Farineux.

BOUCHE: texture grasse, très sucré, bien meilleur que le nez, même si un peu sage. On sent une certaine complexité, mais c’est très très imbriqué, donc difficile à discriminer. On retrouve un côté poudré/farineux. Une pointe d’exotisme mais trop timorée. Ca n’est pas mauvais en tout cas !

FINALE: moyenne, sur la banane trop mure … et un peu de sel.

Souvent, je préfère les sherrys en bouche qu’au nez. Là, c’est bien le cas car sensiblement meilleur en bouche, mais il manque un petit quelque chose ….
86/100

Couleur ambre/cuivre
Nez indéniablement sherry. Moins exubérant en arôme que le sample 2 pour faire une comparaison. L'alcool est assez présent, et se fait malheureusement trop sentir. Sinon, il démarre très fort sur le miel chaud. Des odeurs de prunes limite pourries font apparition avec un peu de vin rouge.
Avec du carton humide par la suite, du papier journal également et du café. Limite je peux dire du café renversé sur du papier journal :). Avec les aérations, il devient un peu poussiéreux. Avec de l'eau, il devient plus boisé (bois sec). Et le miel est toujours présent.
Bouche un peu rappeuse, piquante et acide. Très sherry également. Encore ce miel mais plus discret et ce papier journal tâché de café. Elle devient amère en arrière plan et boisée.
Finale assez piquante et longue. Toujours portée su le miel que j'avais trouvé au nez. L'amertume continue à être présente sur le fond du palais, mais elle n'est pas excessive. Avec ajout d'eau, elle se fait vraiment plus épicée. Un retour piquant sur l'intérieur des joues est clairement identifiable.


Commentaire : J'ai bien aimé ce sherry. Mais j'ai largement préféré le sample 2 de par son explosion d'arômes. Celui-ci restera plus discret et moins ample. Je regrette juste un léger piquant dérangeant au nez. Sinon, c'est un bon whisky :)
85/100

Nez: Joli dark sherry. Des fruits, sur le pruneau, les dattes, raisins secs. Une belle douceur agréable.
En bouche, dark sherry, fruité, acide, quelques fruits secs. Pruneau, dates. Bon.
La finale est acidulé jouant sur le même registre.
85/100

Couleur : Auburn orangé
Nez : Caramel liquide, vanille bourbon délicate. Cassonade. Très gourmand sans être trop écœurant. Après quelques jours, se fait plus sherry. Raisins de Corinthe, noix, balsamique.
Bouche : Malgré ce que pourrait promettre le nez, c’est assez sec mais doux. Légère amertume.
Finale: L’amertume est toujours là. Un peu de vanille. Boudoirs trempés dans du café, tiramisu, crème. L’aération souligne le côté fruité de ce dram avec de la cerise bien sucrée.

Commentaires : C’est sec mais peut-être trop proche d’un vieux rhum distillé à partir de molasses, la palette des senteurs et des goûts me fait réellement penser à un Diplomatico Reserva Exclusiva, sans le côté lourd et sucré. Et c’est justement ce côté-là que je préfère avec ce genre d’arômes…
84/100

Le nez est herbacé, avec d’agréables saveurs pâtissières et de sherry. D’une puissance convenable et avec un alcool correctement intégré, ce nez propose également de discrètes notes de miel. L’aération met en avant le chocolat, accompagné d’une pointe de sel et d’un peu de noisettes, de caramel et de café. C’est convenable, mais sans plus.

L’attaque en bouche est herbacée. Puis, rapidement, dans une ambiance sirupeuse voire granuleuse, le chocolat liquide vient dominer l’ensemble. C’est pas mauvais, mais qu’est ce que c’est linéaire. Une pointe d’alcool en fin de bouche montre une intégration moyenne. L’aération adoucit un peu l’ensemble, qui reste dominé par cette balance herbe / chocolat, même si l’on aperçoit un peu d’oléagineux et de sherry.

La finale, moyenne, est sur le chocolat, en liqueur cette fois-ci, avec une pointe d’épices chaudes. Très concentrée, elle évolue ensuite vers le piment.

En conclusion, un whisky agréable à boire, mais techniquement limité.
82/100

Couleur : Ambré
Nez: très marqué par le fût, manquant d’équilibre et de fraîcheur.
Des notes vineuses et résineuses, du caramel, des fruits secs et des noix.
L’eau fait ressortir le bois et le vernis.
Bouche: Un boisé très présent avec de la résine et une astringence importante.
Même saveurs qu’au nez : caramel, noix, sucre et fruits secs.
L’eau n’arrange rien, du sherry vieillit en fût de whisky ?
Finale persistante sur les saveurs de la bouche.
78/100
[an error occurred while processing this directive]
[an error occurred while processing this directive]
[an error occurred while processing this directive]
[an error occurred while processing this directive]