JavascriptSome functions like the list of distilleries or production areas or the possibility to close the publicity areas do not work as Javascript is disabled.


IELogoThere is nothing wrong using IE. But since Internet Explorer - prior to version 9 - does not fully support the last version of CSS, you will miss lots of nice effects and the site could look less nice as expected...
If you want to see the site as it is meant, please try it with Chrome or Firefox or a more recent version of Internet Explorer.

Il n'y a aucun problème à utiliser Internet Explorer. Mais étant donné que IE -jusqu'à la version 9- n'est pas entièrement compatible avec la dernière version de CSS, un certain nombre d'effets esthétiques de ce site ne sont pas disponibles et le site semble moins attractif...
Si vous voulez voir ce site tel qu'il a été conçu, essayez le avec Chrome ou Firefox ou une version plus récente d'Explorer.

enabled

Translation

Close
If you like this site but hate advertisement, please be aware that publicity is the only income vor this site, apart from donations. [an error occurred while processing this directive]

History of Scotch whisky between 1788 and 1823

Français | English

See the history of Scotch whisky from the origins until 1787

The industrial revolution in the Lowlands


New developments in the case Scotch whisky producers vs Gin producers

The industrial development of Scotland quickened during the 1780's. The textile industry became very important, and some very great cotton mills were build in those days. One of them was the Deanston cotton mill which was active for about 200 years before closing in 1960. A few years later it was converted in a whisky distillery. The building of those great plants required machinery, and encouraged the iron founding and engineering industry, which in turn need coal, helping development of coal mining.
At that time, the whisky industry was important to the Scottish industry, especially in the Lowlands (see history before 1787), but was loosing the price war against the London gin producers.
Very bad news for the Scottish distilleries was the promulgation of the Lowland Licence Act, which required a 12 months from the distilleries working for the English market. This meant that the Lowlands distilleries just must cease trading for one year, which had catastrophic consequences on the Scottish industry.
In addition, the distilleries were required to word from wash stills of at least 200 gallons and spirit stills of at least 50 gallons. And the duty on spirits exported to England rose.
The consequences of all those measures did not only affect the distilleries, but also the agriculture which was recently geared to produce barley for the distilleries and relied on draff to feed their cattle.

Consequences of the new measures

Amongst the first victims of this new measures, Sandeman & Graham, the London agents of the great Kilbagie distillery, belonging to James Stein. The 5 most important distilleries in those days ceased trading: Kennetpans, Kincaple, Hattonburn, Lochrin and Canonmills (all of them were related to the Stein or Haig families). This 5 distilleries were responsible for about 50% of the Lowlands production. Their debts approach 700.000£ (about 20.000.000£ at 2000 prices) and had consequences on the Scottish banks, creditors of the distillers.
Those 5 distilleries were not the only ones to cease trading. Many other followed, amongst them: Underwood near Falkirk, Anderston in Glasgow, Cunningham Park in Ayr, Ailnamuir, Ferintosh and Doghillock.

Reaction of the industry

Those difficulties did not drive the Stein and Haigs out of the whisky-making history. Their creditors realized the problems were largely due to changes in the law and accepted to help them to re-enter the trade. First of all, both families ceased supplying the English market and registered for Scottish market.
One of the consequences of this next strategy of both families was a flood of cheap and harsh whisky on the Scottish market.
New taxes, intended to help financing the war against the revolutionary France, were introduced. And again the reaction of the industry was an increase of the produced quantity and a decrease of its quality. The tax was on the still capacity, and distilleries decided to produce more with the same stills, e.g. produce faster. Stills were charged up to 25 times a day (against 1 or 2 in the traditional process).
But this massive production made some technical improvements necessary. One of the changes in the making process was the pre-heating of the wash. Very large stills, designed for massive production were installed.
The cheap whisky produced that way overrunning Scotland led to a great increase of the whisky consumption in the country.
Taxes rose again to finance war against Spain and France, and the making process of whisky continued its evolution until the end of the 18th century, with still the same decrease in the quality as a consequence. Stills were charged up to 90 times a day in those days in Lowlands. Lowland distilleries produced about 90% of the whisky in Scotland.

The situation in the Highlands


An outbreak of moonshine distilling

The situation of distilling in the Highlands was radically different from the Lowlands. Highland distilleries were not huge industrial plants like in Southern Scotland.
Distilleries were merely owned by local farmers sometimes joining in cooperatives, and the production was not that massive. Highland production represented less than 10%, but on the other hand, no concession to quality has been done. The Highland whiskies were much better, but also much more expensive than the Lowland ones.
Distillation was never the main activity, and nearly no one was dependent on it for his livelihood. Generally, local peat was used to heat the stills, and some people began encouraging the use of Lowland coal, as peat reserves are not inexhaustible.
Despite this facts, many distilleries were forced to close, due to a strengthening of the distillation laws. Tax increases were also problem for the Highland producers. This situation, combined to a increasing demand or good whisky from the Lowlands encouraged the rebirth of moonshine distilling and smuggling.
Distilleries like Ardbeg owned by Alexander Stewart and Craigentinny in Edinburgh bankrupted.
Distilleries in Campbeltown (which were officially excluded from the Highlands in 1795) were driven underground. Also in Speyside, moonshine distilling and smuggling were raising again.
Moonshine distilling and smuggling became part of the local traditions, and remained unpunished because of the complicity of local authorities.

New hard times for the distilleries

Catastrophic harvests during the first years of the 19th century made the government take the decision to prohibit distillation, as the grain was hard needed for food production. In addition to bad harvests, the Napoleonic wars on the continent made import of grain nearly impossible. This import restrictions did apply to brandy too. Many notables had to change their drinking habits and started drinking whisky. The successive taxes increases during the first years of the century had a limited effect on local consumption.
The consumption of whisky was resuming and the great Lowlands distilleries knew a new era of prosperity. English marked was opened again, but only to big producers, as the law oblige exporters to produce their spirit in stills of at least 3000 gallons.
The Highland distilleries did not benefit from this new conditions, and their problems with illegal distillation remained. Starvation in North Scotland continued, and the landlords joined (slightly) the authorities to fight moonshine distilling, arguing that grain was so hard needed for food processing that is was a crime to use in for producing whisky. However many landlords collected part of their rents in whisky.


Dealing illicit distillation a decisive blow

The authorities began to understand that the only way to kill moonshine distilling was a liberalisation of the rules and a significant decrease of the taxes on whisky. So, in 1816 taxes were divided by 3 and the use of smaller stills (at least 40 gallons) was allowed again. The effect was nearly immediate. The number of distilleries acting in the Highlands increased from 12 to 39 in 1817 and to 57 in 1859, and from 24 to 68 in the Lowlands.
The use of smaller stills made the use of other distillation techniques possible, with often better results. Legal distilleries, owning greater stills, found it very difficult to produce whisky with a quality comparable to the one produced illegally.
However, starvation broke out again the same year, and at the same time a new increase of moonshine distilling, due to lack at grain. And the struggle between excise men and moonshine distillers began again. Harder than ever.
The promulgation of the "Excise Act" in 1823, decreasing the taxes again, and the end of the 12 months notice for exports to England meant the end of the monopoly of the Steins and Haigs in the Lowlands and the monopoly of moonshine distillers in the Highlands.
Encouraging measures made the generalisation of use of malt instead of grain (used in the big distilleries in the Lowlands) in the distillation process possible and contribute greatly to the increase of the quality of Scotch whisky.
Legal restriction were nearly disappeared, and the success of the whisky industry was from now depending of the market laws.

> Wednesday, 23-Aug-2017 17:14:23 CEST
Sun 24 09 2017, 17:43 - 50 visiteurs au cours de la dernire heure et 2 visiteurs sur le site en ce moment.
Copyright :Jean-Marie Putz (2003-2017)


Whisky is an alcoholic drink. Let's prefer quality to quantity as the abuse of alcohol beverages can damage the health. Consuming alcoholic drinks during pregnancy, even in small quantities, can seriously affect the health of the child. Consumption of alcohol impairs your ability to drive a car or operate machinery, and may cause health problems.

This site does not collect any private data from it's visitors. Is is purely static.

The tasting notes

The distilleries

The whisky

The production areas

WDTS: blind tasting sessions List of all distilleries How whisky is made Central Highlands, Eastern Highlands, Northern Highlands,Western Highlands
Recent tastings Distillery owners Whisky history Speyside
Visitors notes The independent bottlers All the bottles in collection Lowlands
Post your own notes The distilleries in their historical context By order of preference Islay
Interactive map of the distilleries By order of value for money Campbeltown
Copyright Contact Links The Isles
Close

JavaScript Logo Un certain nombre de fonctions comme la liste des distilleries ou des régions, ainsi que la possibilité de fermer les fenêtres publicitaires ne fonctionnent pas parce que JavaScript est désactivé.
<

IELogoThere is nothing wrong using IE. But since Internet Explorer - prior to version 9 - does not fully support the last version of CSS, you will miss lots of nice effects and the site could look less nice as expected...
If you want to see the site as it is meant, please try it with Chrome or Firefox or a more recent version of Internet Explorer.

Il n'y a aucun problème à utiliser Internet Explorer. Mais étant donné que IE -jusqu'à la version 9- n'est pas entièrement compatible avec la dernière version de CSS, un certain nombre d'effets esthétiques de ce site ne sont pas disponibles et le site semble moins attractif...
Si vous voulez voir ce site tel qu'il a été conçu, essayez le avec Chrome ou Firefox ou une version plus récente d'Explorer.

enabled
Close
Close

Translation

Close
Si vous avez aimé ce site mais que vous avez horreur de la réclame, sachez que la publicité représente les seuls revenus de ce site, mis à part les donations. [an error occurred while processing this directive]

Histoire du whisky écossais entre 1788 et 1823

English | Français

Voir l'histoire du whisky écossais des origines à 1787

La révolution industrielle dans les Lowlands


Un nouvel épisode des tensions entre les producteurs de whisky écossais et les producteurs de gin anglais

L'activité industrielle prit un énorme essor au cours des années 1780. En particulier l'industrie textile avait pris une grande importance. Entre autres grandes usines qui furent créées à cette épopue figure l'usine de coton de Deanston qui allait rester en activité jusqu'en 1960 avant d'être transformée en distillerie quelques années plus tard. Cet essor de l'industrie textile entraina d'importants développements dans d'autes secteurs d'activité comme la sidérurgie (il fallait contruire les machines) et les mines de charbon (nécessaire à la sidérurgie).
L'industrie du whisky était également fortement développée surtout dans les Lowlands (voir histoire avant 1787), mais était en passe de perdre la guerre des prix contre les producteurs anglais de gin.
Un coup fatal fut porté à cette industrie par une loi votée à l'instigation des producteurs travaillant pour le marché anglais. Cette loi, nommée Lowland Licence Act stipulait que les distilleries des Lowlands devaient donner un préavis de 12 mois avant de pouvoir exporter leurs produits à destination de l'Angleterre. Ceci revenait dans les faits tout simplement à empecher les distilleries des Lowlands de produire leur whisky durant un an, avec toutes les conséquences catastrophiques que cela implique.
Mais les mesures prises à l'encontre des distilleries écossaises ne se limitèrent pas à cette loi. De nouvelles contraintes leur furent imposées. Ainsi la capacité minimale des alambics de première distillation (wash still) était portée à 1000 litres et celle des spirit stills (seconde distillation) à 200.
Les taxes d'importation de l'alcool à destination de l'Angleterre furent également augmentées.
Les conséquences de toutes ces mesures sur l'économie écossaises touchèrent non seulement les distilleries, mais également l'agriculture qui s'était récemment reconvertie, de façon à pouvoir assurer une production suffisante d'orge pour les distileries. De plus, l'élevage était ainsi privé d'une des sources d'alimentation du bétail.

Consequences immédiates des nouvelles mesures

Les premiers à pâtir de ces nouvelles mesures furent Sandeman & Graham, les agents londonniens de la grande distillerie Kilbagie appartenant à James Stein. Les cinq distilleries les plus importantes de l'époque, Kennetpans, Kincaple, Hattonburn, Lochrin et Canonmills (toutes plus ou moins apparentées aux familles Stein ou Haig) qui produisaient plus de 50% du whisky des Lowlands firent faillite. Leurs dettes cumulées s'élevaient à 700.000 £ de l'époque (correspondant environ à 20.000.000£ actuels), et eurent des conséquences sur les banques écossaises créditrices.
Les 5 plus grandes distilleries entrainèrent d'autres faillites dans leur sillage, comme par exemple Underwood à Falkirk, Anderston à Glasgow, Cunningham Park à Ayr, Ailnamuir, Ferintosh et Doghillock.

Réaction de l'industrie

Mais ces temps difficiles n'éliminèrent pas les familes Stein et Haig du monde du whisky. Leurs créditeurs, conscients du fait que les difficultés étaient dues à des modifications de la loi et non à des fautes de gestion, acceptèrent d'aider les Stein et les Haig refaire surface. D'abord, les deux familles cessèrent leurs exportations à destination de l'Angleterre, et se concentrèrent sur les marchés écossais.
Une des conséquences de cette nouvelle politique économique des deux familles fut d'inonder le marché écossais de whisky bon marché et de qualité inférieure.
De nouvelles taxes sur le whisky destinées à financer la guerre contre la France révolutionnaire eurent une fois de plus comme conséquence une nette diminution de la qualité. Pour contrebalancer l'effet du triplement des taxes sur la capacité des alambics, les grandes distilleries décidèrent de produire plus vite (au détriment évidemment de la qualité), et les alambics pouvaient produire leur alcool jusqu'à 25 fois par jour au lieu des 1 ou deux fois traditionnelles.
Mais cette production massive nécessita des investissements, permettant entre autres de préchauffer le wash. D'énormes alambics, capables de produire en masse furent installés.
Ce whisky bon marché envahissant l'Ecosse eut comme conséquence une énorme recrudescence de la consommation d'alcool dans le pays.
Les taxes ne cessèrent d'augmenter afin de financer l'effort de guerre de contre la France et l'Espagne, et les procédés de production d'évoluer jusqu'à la fin du 18ème siècle, avec pour conséquence une constante dégradation de la qualité du whisky. Les alambics à cette époque étaient chargés jusqu'à 90 fois par jour dans les Lowlands, qui assuraient 90% de la production nationale.

La situation dans les Highlands


Une recrudescence de la distillation clandestine

La situation des distilleries des Highlands était radicalement différente de celles des Lowlands. Les distilleries dans les Highlands n'étaient pas des établissements industriels comme c'était le cas au Sud de l'Ecosse.
Les distilleries étaient généralement la propriété de fermiers (souvent réunis en coopérative), et la production était nettement moins massive. Les Highlands produisaient moins de 10% du whisky, mais par contre ils n'avaient pas fait de concessions sur la qualité. Les whiskies produits dans cette région étaient nettement meilleurs, mais aussi beaucoup plus chers que ceux des Lowlands.
La distillation était toujours une activité d'appoint, et personne n'était entièrement dépendant de la production de whisky pour sa survie. En général la tourbe locale était utilisée pour chauffer les alambics. Les réserves de tourbe n'étant pas inépuisables, de nombreuses voix s'élevèrent pour encourager les distilleries à importer du charbon des Lowlands.
Ceci n'a cependant pas empeché bon nombre de distilleries à cesser leur activité, à cause du renforcement des lois sur la distillation. L'augmentation des taxes était également à l'ordre du jour dans les Highlands, et a poussé pas mal de distilleries légales à fermer leurs portes. Une forte demande de whisky de qualité de la part des Lowlands a encouragé une forte recrudescence de la distillation clandestine et de la contrebande.
De prestigieuses distilleries comme Ardbeg (appartenant à Alexander Stewart) et Craigentinny à Edimbourg firent faillite.
Les distilleries de Campbeltown (qui furent officiellement exclues des Highlands en 1795) connurent le même sort. Cette époque marqua également une renaissance de la contrebande et de la distillation clandestine dans la vallée de la Spey.
La distillation clandestine et la contrebande étaient devenus partie intégrante des traditons dans cette partie du pays, et restait totalement impunie du fait de la complicité des autorités locales.

Nouvelles difficultés pour les distilleries

Des récoltes catastrophiques durant les premières années du 19ème siècle ont conduit le gouvernement à interdire la distillation afin de réserver le blé à la production de pain. De meme, les guerre napoléoniennes qui faisaient rage sur le continent empêchaient l'approvisionnement en orge européen. Ces difficultés d'approvisionnement s'appliquaient également au Cognac. Ainsi de nombreux notables se virent contraints de changer leurs habitudes, et se mirent à boire du whisky. Les augmentations successives des taxes qui allaient se produire dans les premières années du 19ème siècle eurent des conséquences limitées sur la consommation locale.
La consommation allait reprendre, et les grandes distilleries des Lowlands connurent une nouvelle ère de prospérité. Les marchés anglais s'ouvrirent à nouveau, mais uniquement pour les gros producteurs, étant donné que la législation obligeait les candidats à l'exportation à utiliser des alambics d'un minimum de 15.000 litres.
Mais cette embellie ne profita pas aux distilleries des Highlands qui restaient confrontées aux problèmes de distillation illicite. La famine continuait de ravager le Nord de l'Ecosse, et les propriétaires terriens se joignirent (timidement) aux autorités pour lutter contre la distillation illégale , arguant du fait que le grain était trop nécessaire pour la survie des populations pour se permettre de l'utiliser à la fabrication illégale de whisky. Ceci n'empêchait pas les mêmes propriétaires à percevoir bien souvent leur loyer sous forme de whisky...

Un pas décisif dans la lutte contre les distilleries clandestines

Les responsables gouvernementaux finirent par comprendre que la seule façon de lutter efficacement contre la distillation clandestine était une certaine libéralisation des lois et une diminution sensible des taxes. Ainsi, en 1816 les taxes sur le whisky furent divisées par 3 et l'usage d'alambics plus petits (minimum 200 litres) fut autorisé à nouveau. L'effet ne se fit pas attendre. Le nombre de distilleries légales passa de 12 à 39 en 1817 et à 57 en 1819 dans les Highlands, et de 24 à 68 dans les Lowlands.
L'usage d'alambics plus petits permettaient d'utiliser d'autres techniques de distillation, avec bien souvent de meilleurs résultats. Les distilleries légales, disposant de plus grands alambics, eurent beaucoup de difficultés à produire un whisky dont la qualité pouvait rivaliser avec celui des clandestins.
Cependant la famine refit son apparition la même année, et avec elle la recrudescence de la distillation clandestine, à cause de la pénurie de grain. Et la lutte entre les agents des accises et les distillateurs clandestins reprit de plus belle.
La promulgation en 1823 de l'"Excise Act", diminunant une nouvelle fois les taxes et l'autorisation et la levée de l'obligation de donner un préavis de 12 mois pour toute exportation vers l'Angleterre sonna la fin du monopole des Stein et des Haig dans les Lowlands et de celui des clandestins dans les Highlands.
Des mesures d'encouragements permirent une généralisation de l'utilisation de malt au lieu du grain utilisé dans l'industrie des Lowlands et contribuèrent à l'amélioration générale du produit final. De nombreuses distilleries demandèrent leur légalisation à cette époque.
Les restrictions légales avaient pratiquement disparues, et l'essor de l'industrie du whisky est désormais sujet aux lois du marché.

> Le comptoir Sunday, 02-Apr-2017 11:06:27 CEST
Wed 26 07 2017, 08:50 - 2 visiteurs au cours de la dernire heure et 1 visiteur sur le site en ce moment.
Copyright :Jean-Marie Putz (2003-2017)

Le whisky est un alcool fort, ne l'oublions pas. L'abus d'alcool peut gravement nuire à la santé. Sachons privilégier la qualité par rapport à la quantité. La consommation de boissons alcoolisées pendant la grossesse, même en faible quantité, peut avoir des conséquences graves pour la santé de l'enfant. De même évitez de prendre le volant après avoir consommé du whisky.

Protection de la vie privée: Ce site ne collecte aucune donnée privée. Il est purement statique.

Les notes de dégustation

Les distilleries

Le whisky

Les régions

WDTS: blind tasting sessions Liste de toutes les distilleries La fabrication du whisky Central Highlands , Eastern Highlands, Northern Highlands, Western Highlands
Dégustations récentes Propriétaires des distilleries L'histoire du whisky Speyside
Notes des visiteurs Les indépendants Liste des bouteilles en collection Lowlands
Envoyer vos propres notes Les distilleries dans leur contexte historique Par ordre de préférence Islay
Forum Carte interactive des distilleries Par rapport qualité/prix Les Iles
Copyright Contact Liens Campbeltown
Close