JavascriptSome functions like the list of distilleries or production areas or the possibility to close the publicity areas do not work as Javascript is disabled.


enabled
Close
Close

Translation

Close
Si vous avez aimé ce site mais que vous avez horreur de la réclame, sachez que la publicité représente les seuls revenus de ce site, mis à part les donations. [an error occurred while processing this directive]

History of Scotch whisky before 1787

Français | English

see also the history of Scotch whisky between 1788 et 1823

The origins


The first advances made in distillation technology

Although the distillation technology is known since the Ancient Egypt for the production of perfumes, it seems the technique used before the 11th century was not able to produce alcohol, suitable to be drunk as the cooling system at the output of the still did not enable to collect of a sufficient quantity of liquid.

The first production of uisge beata seems to date back to the 15th century in monasteries. Uisge beata was used as a medicine as well as for direct consumption. (see poem of Raphael Holinshed).

The first significant enhancements in distillation technology date back to the 16th century, when the air cooling system was replaced by a tube crossing a tub filled up with water. This tube was first placed straight in the centre of a tub, and later diagonally in this tub, which increased the surface of the tube being in contact with fresh water. The tube should later adopt the shape of a serpentine, allowing an optimal cooling by increasing the surface to be in contact with the water again.

Another enhancement in the same period has been the lengthening of the lyne arm and the changes in its shape, to get the current onion shape. The result of this shape changes was that a greater part of the evaporated liquids fall back in the still, ensuring a better suppression of impurities in the final liquid.

Both enhancements resulted in a serious improvement of the quality of the produced alcohol, and marked the real beginning of the economic expansion of Scotch whisky.

First taxation of alcohol in Scotland

The first taxation of uisge beata did not occur before another century. In 1644, the first excise law was voted by the Scottish Parliament. In those days, the production was already that important that during the years with poor harvests, there was not enough barley left for people to eat, because the major part of the harvests was used by the (official or not) distilleries, The first tax was intended to cover the financial needs of the Royalist Army.

The birth of the industrial distilleries.

During the 17th century, the stills used for the distillation of uisge beata were rather small and most of the time they were found in private houses. Their capacity did not exceed 20 to 50 gallons. The industrial distilleries appeared at the end of the 17th century.
One of the first ones belonged to Duncan Forbes of Culladen. He used to produce alcohol on this estate Ferintosh, and the name of his uisge beata was considered as a synonym of "good alcohol" for many years. All this happened on a background of war with England and.

A treaty between Scotland and England signed in 1707 stipulated that the taxes on alcohol has to be the same on both sides of the border. In addition, a tax on malts was introduced in Scotland in 1713. This tax existed in England, but was not part of the treaty. This resulted in very violent demonstrations. The residence of Daniel Campbell of Showfield has been devastated and 11 people living with him were killed during one of this protest actions. As a compensation, the City of Glasgow paid a sum of 9000 pounds. With that money, he purchased the Isle of Islay.

First consequences of the tax on the malt

One of the first effects of this new tax on the malt was an important decrease in the consumption of ale, which was also made from malt, and an increase of consumption of brandy and home made alcohols.
Another consequence was the introduction of non malted grain in the composition of uisge beata in those days, with the natural decrease in quality for the resulting alcohol.

Fight against alcoholism in England

In order to fight against the devastating effects of alcoholism in those times, England decided to increase seriously the taxes on gin produced on its territory as well as on the genever produced in Holland. However, the "Gin Act" of 1736 did not mention the Scottish uisge beata.
The effect was immediate, and the result was a huge progression of production of uisge beata in Scotland. The production increased from about 100.000 gallons in 1708 to 250.000 gallons in 1736. However, according to documents from that time, the great majority of the production was absorbed by the local market.
In the same period, the gaelic term "uisge beata" to design water of life has been altered and corrupted, to become uisky of whisky.
A new important increase of the production happened round 1750, and again it appears that the local marked absorbed it nearly entirely.
This is one of the curiosities of history. The distilleries increase their production in order to take advantage of a lack in a low in England, hoping to export their whisky, but in fact only contributed in a worrying increase of alcoholism on their own territory.
Lots of distilleries have been created in those days. One of them was the Dolls distillery (later renamed Glenochil) which has been founded in 1746 and Gilcomstan (in Aberdeen) in 1751.

Restrictions to distillation

A disastrous harvest in 1756 obliged the government to forbid distillation on the whole territory. The whisky production decreased by 90% in a few months. This did not impeach home distilleries to continue, of course. Home distillation was not prohibited in those days, if intended for own consumption only, but it was strictly forbidden to sell home made whisky.
The times were hard, and the recently founded Gilcomston distillery has been reconverted into a brewery in 1763. The times were hard for legal distilleries.
The general prohibition about production of alcohol in the legal distilleries encouraged the private producers to sell their alcohol. Lots of people broke the law.
Private production became very important from 1760. It was nearly ten times more important than the official one (which fell beneath 50.000 gallons a year). But the global production was very close to the production before the prohibition. The era of moonshine distilling was born.

Government reaction against the first moonshine distilleries.

The first measures taken by the authorities were not really efficient. They first forbid the use of small stills (less than 500 gallons for wash stills and less than 100 gallons for spirit stills). hey also sealed the stills, in order to avoid them working without authorisation. The pernicious effect of this laws was that new distilleries had to cease their activities (they nearly all disappeared in no time), but did not affect the greatest one (Ferintosh) at all. Another effect was a new important extension of moonshine distillery.
The number of moonshine distilleries was estimated at about 400, for 8 official ones in 1777 in the city of Edinburgh.

About alcohol drinking in Scotland during the 18th century

The alcohol consumption was very important in those days. Whisky was drunk besides beer and wine. The "normal" consumption was about one dram (1/3 pint) at 60% a day.
The technical progresses made it possible to produce quite better alcohol. This enabled to drink whisky on its own, and not as earlier, just in cordials (with aromatic herbs and sugar added, to hide the bad taste of the whisky at that time) or in punch.

Production increase and illegal distillation

For some unclear reasons, a significant increase of the production of official whisky happened in 1777, going from 70.000 gallons a year to 190.000 in 1779. One of the reasons was that the new distilleries continued producing whisky partly with non malted barley (cheaper because of the taxes), to be able to fight against the home production.
Protectionist measures have also been taken against foreign alcohols (brandy and wine) to protect the local agriculture.
At the same period, the government entirely forbid the production of home made whisky, authorising the excise agents to seize or destroy all the private stills all over Scotland. This was the beginning of the war against moonshine distillers.
This new measures have been preceded two years earlier by severe restrictions on the size of authorized home stills, which were no more allowed to exceed a capacity of 2 gallons (against 10 previously).
The major reason for the government to prohibit the private stills was the need to finance the war against the American colonies. A bonus was even paid to anybody who made it possible for the excise agents to find an illegal still. This money was usually reinvested in a new still... This was another governmental measure proving its inefficiency in the fight against moonshine distilling.

Better times for legal distilleries

While the government was fighting hard against the moonshine distillers, the legal distilleries experienced a significant improvement of their activities. From the 1780's, number of legal distilleries has been founded in the Lowlands.
Two great families especially enjoyed from this expansion: the Stein (allied to the Haig) and the Philp, owners of the Kilbagie, Kennetpans and Dolls distilleries. Kilbalgie, belonging to the Stein will become the biggest distillery of Scotland, and will later be converted in a paper mill which is still active currently. The Stein, allied to the Haig founded the Canonmills and Lochrin distilleries in Edinburgh and Kincaple in St Andrews at the same period. Other distilleries were born too in those days, like Blackhall (Alexander Dewar), Underwood and Hattonburn. This distilleries became quickly the heart of the economic life in the Lowlands. Their production waste was used to feed the cattle, and the distilleries were rapidly considered as essential to the local agriculture. On the other hand, they offered great prospects to the local coal mines.

First whisky export

The production in the Lowlands had reached such a level that the local market has become to small, and the Stein were looking for other outlets. They sold their whisky to the gin producers who used it for rectification of their blends.
The pernicious effect of this was that the local barley production was insufficient to cover the needs of the distilleries, and the first imports of barley from England and Europe took place during this period.
Thanks to this import, the industry survived the very bad harvests between 1782 and 1784 which caused a starvation on the whole Scottish territory, and especially in the Highlands. This did not impeach the distilleries to go on with their production, provoking riots by hungry people.
The government supported the distilleries, because of their economic importance.

1784: Wash Act

An intensification of the controls by the excise administration on the legal distilleries permitted the Wash Act to be published in 1784. The spirit of this law was a simplification of the taxation method. The taxation level was also considerably decreased in Scotland and in England, because the independence war in America was ended.
Instead of taxing the "low wines" and the spirit separately, only the wash was taken into consideration under the new law. The tax was based on the assumption that 5 gallons of wash produced 1 gallon of spirit between 55% and 65%. This system was accompanied by very strict controls, which could took place any time in day or night.

A preferential treatment for the Highlands

Special measures were taken in favour of the Highlands, partially to compensate the consequences of the food shortage. The idea was to encourage the small moonshine distilleries to become legal ones. The law determined a maximum size for the stills, and just authorized the use of local barley, and as a compensation, the level of the taxes was sensibly reduced. The tax on the malt has even been suppressed. On the other hand, any infraction would be severely repressed, and the landlords were considered as responsible for offences by the people living on their estates.
The latest measure made the landlords very angry. The Lowlands producers said this was discrimination, as they did not benefit from preferential measures. This protest actions obliged the government to take some new measures in 1785. Any export of Highland whisky has been prohibited outside the Highlands, and the responsibility of the landlords has been suppressed in case of infractions by their people.

A new outbreak of moonshine spirit

The export prohibition made to the Highland whiskies (which quality was much higher than in the Lowlands), gave a second life to smuggling.
The main difference between whisky from the Highlands and Lowlands came from the shape of the stills. The stills in the Highlands were better shaped to produce quality spirit.

Industrial revolution

At the beginning of the industrial revolution, the distilleries belonging to the Stein and Haig were the biggest industrial plants in Scotland.
The huge production increase and the export to England was considered by the rich London gin merchants as a very bad news, and they began to fight against the growing importance of Scottish whisky. An implacable price war began between the gin and the whisky producers. The whisky producers were obliged to sell their whisky under the cost price.
Another consequence of the actions by the gin merchants lobby was an increase of the taxes on the Scottish spirit. This just affected the Lowlands whisky, as the Highlands could not be exported, due to the export prohibition.
The reaction of the Lowlands industry against the sudden increase of their production costs was a technologic move, making faster production possible for less money. It is obvious that such a move could not have beneficial effects on the quality of the Lowlands whisky.
Another reaction was an increase of the Highland whiskies prices, due to the supply and demand economical law, even if the whole business was only based on smuggling, as the Highlands whisky could not be exported.
The economical importance of whisky in Scotland dates back to this period, which was the beginning of the capitalist era. In those days already, whisky was the major industry in the country.


see also the history of Scotch whisky between 1788 et 1823

> Le comptoir Sunday, 02-Apr-2017 12:33:27 CEST
Wed 26 07 2017, 08:49 - 2 visiteurs au cours de la dernire heure et 2 visiteurs sur le site en ce moment.
Copyright :Jean-Marie Putz (2003-2017)


Whisky is an alcoholic drink. Let's prefer quality to quantity as the abuse of alcohol beverages can damage the health. Consuming alcoholic drinks during pregnancy, even in small quantities, can seriously affect the health of the child. Consumption of alcohol impairs your ability to drive a car or operate machinery, and may cause health problems.

This site does not collect any private data from it's visitors. Is is purely static.

The tasting notes

The distilleries

The whisky

The production areas

WDTS: blind tasting sessions List of all distilleries How whisky is made Central Highlands, Eastern Highlands, Northern Highlands,Western Highlands
Recent tastings Distillery owners Whisky history Speyside
Visitors notes The independent bottlers All the bottles in collection Lowlands
Post your own notes The distilleries in their historical context By order of preference Islay
Interactive map of the distilleries By order of value for money Campbeltown
Copyright Contact Links The Isles
Close

JavaScript Logo Un certain nombre de fonctions comme la liste des distilleries ou des régions, ainsi que la possibilité de fermer les fenêtres publicitaires ne fonctionnent pas parce que JavaScript est désactivé.
enabled
Close
 
Close

Translation

Close
Si vous avez aimé ce site mais que vous avez horreur de la réclame, sachez que la publicité représente les seuls revenus de ce site, mis à part les donations.

Histoire du whisky écossais avant 1787

English | Français

voir aussi l'histoire du whisky entre 1788 et 1823

Les origines


Les premiers progrès de la technique de distillation

Si la technique de la distillation est connue depuis l'Egypte ancienne pour la production de parfums, il semble que la technologie utilisée avant le XIème siècle ne permettait pas de produire de l'alcool à boire, dans la mesure où les systèmes de refroidissement à la sortie de l'alambic n'étaient pas au point, et ne permettaient pas de recueillir suffisamment de liquide.

Les premières productions de uisge beata semblent remonter au XVème siècle, dans des monastères. Le uisge beata était au moins autant utilisé à des fins thérapeutique que pour la consommation directe sous forme d'alcool (voir le poème de Hollingshead).

Les premiers progrès significatifs dans la technologie de la distillation remontent au XVIème siècle, quand le système de refroidissement par air fut remplacé par un système qui consiste à faire circuler le résultat de la distillation dans un tube plongé dans l'eau. Ce tube était d'abord placé au centre d'une cuve contenant de l'eau, et ensuite en biais, augmentant de la sorte la longueur et donc la surface de contact avec l'eau. C'est aux environs de la moitié du XVIIème siècle que ce tube prit la forme d'un serpentin.

Une autre amélioration introduite à cette époque était l'allongement du col de l'alambic et la modification de sa forme pour se rapprocher de la forme actuelle rappelant celle d'un oignon. L'effet de cette modification est qu'une plus grande partie des liquides évaporés retombent dans l'alambic, ce qui assure une meilleure élimination des impuretés.

Ces deux modifications eurent comme conséquence une nette amélioration de la qualité de l'alcool produit et correspondent aux débuts de l'expansion économique du whisky écossais.

Les débuts de la taxation de l'alcool en Ecosse

Il fallut attendre un siècle supplémentaire pour voir arriver la première taxation sur la production de uisge beata. C'est en 1644 que la première loi sur les accises fut votée par le parlement Ecossais. La production avait déjà pris une telle ampleur à l'époque que lors des années à faible production de grain, il n'en restait pas suffisamment pour nourrir la population, la plus grande partie étant utilisée dans la distillation, officielle ou non. Cette première taxe était destinée à soutenir les efforts financiers exigés pour faire face aux dépenses de l'Armée Royaliste.

Naissance des distilleries industrielles

La distillation au cours du XVII ème siècle se faisait à l'aide d'alambics de taille modeste, avec des capacités de 100 à 250 litres, et la plupart du temps dans des maisons privées.
C'est à la fin du XVII ème siècle que des distilleries plus importantes firent leur apparition.
Une des premières distilleries de ce type appartenait à Duncan Forbes de Culladen. Il produisait de l'alcool sur son territoire de Ferintosh, et le nom de son uisge beata allait devenir synonyme d'"alcool de qualité" pour des décennies.Tout ceci se passait à une époque marquée par la guerre entre l'Ecosse et l'Angleterre.


Un traité entre l'Ecosse et l'Angleterre signé en 1707 stipulait que les taxes sur les alcools devaient être les mêmes des deux cotés de la frontière. Une taxe sur le malt fut également introduite en Ecosse en 1713. Cette taxe pré-existait en Angleterre, mais ne faisait pas partie du traité signé entre les deux nations.
Aussi, l'introduction de cette taxe en Ecosse fut à l'origine de violentes manifestations. La résidence de Daniel Campbell de Showfield, parlementaire ayant voté cette taxe, fut dévastée et 11 personnes de son entourage furent tuées. A titre de compensation, la ville de Glasgow lui octroya une somme de 9000 Livres, avec lesquelles il acquit l'Ile d'Islay.

Premières conséquences de la taxation sur le malt

Un des premiers effets de cette taxation sur le malt fut une singulière diminution de la consommation de bière (également produite à partir d'orge malté) au profit de celle de brandy (cognac) et de d'alcools distillés à domicile.
Une autre conséquence fut l'introduction de grains non maltés à côté du malt dans la fabrication de l'uisge beata produit à cette époque, avec l'inévitable modification au niveau de la qualité du produit fini.

Lutte anti-alcoolique en Angleterre

Au titre de la lutte contre l'alcool qui faisait des ravages à l'époque, l'Angleterre décida de taxer fortement le gin produit sur son territoire, ainsi que le genièvre hollandais. Le "Gin Act" datant de1736 ne faisait aucune référence au uisge beata écossais.
L'effet fut immédiat, et le résultat fut une énorme progression de la production de uisge beata en Ecosse, passant d'environ 500.000 litres en 1708 à 1.250.000 litres en 1736. Cependant, il ressort des documents de l'époque que la plus grande partie de la production était consommée sur place...
C'est à cette époque que le terme gaélique "uisge beata" pour désigner l'eau-de-vie allait se corrompre et donner naissance au terme uisky ou whisky.
Une nouvelle augmentation sensible de la production allait se produire vers 1750, et ici encore, tout indique que l'augmentation de la consommation restait absorbée par le marché local.

Il s'agit ici d'un clin d'oeil tragique de l'histoire. Les distilleries pensant augmenter leurs exportations en profitant d'un oubli dans une loi en Angleterre ont simplement fortement contribué à une progression inquiétante de l'alcoolisme sur le territoire écossais.
La création de nombreuses distilleries date de cette époque. Ainsi, la distillerie Dolls (qui fut plus tard rebaptisée en Glenochil) a été crée en 1746 et Gilcomstan à Aberdeen en 1751.

Restrictions à la distillation

Des récoltes catastrophiques en 1756 ont obligé de gouvernement à interdire la distillation sur tout le territoire. La production de whisky légal a chuté de 90% en quelques mois. Cela n'a évidemment pas empêché la distillation dans les foyers, qui était légale à l'époque à condition que la production soit uniquement destinée à la consommation propre, à l'exclusion de toute vente.
La récente distillerie Gilcomston fut obligée de se reconvertir en brasserie dès 1763. Les temps étaient durs pour les distilleries légales.

La quasi-interdiction de produire de l'alcool dans les distilleries a évidemment fortement encouragé les producteurs particuliers à vendre leur whisky, entrant par là dans l'illégalité.
La production "privée" prit vers 1760 de telles proportions qu'elle était devenue environ 10 fois supérieure à la production officielle (retombée sous les 200.000 litres par an). Au total cependant, il y avait peu de différence avec la production d'avant l'interdiction. Seulement, l'ère de la production illégale et clandestine était née.

Réaction des autorités aux premières distilleries clandestines

Les premières mesures prises par les autorités de l'époque ne se sont pas avérées très efficaces. Elles consistaient en l'interdiction d'utiliser des alambics de petite taille (moins de 2000 litres pour le wash still et moins de 500 litres pour le spirit still). ainsi qu'en l'apposition de scellés sur les alambics, empêchant la distillation à l'insu des autorités. Les effets furent sensibles surtout pour les distilleries officielles débutantes (qui disparurent les unes après les autres) et n'affectèrent en rien la grande distillerie de l'époque, Ferinstosh. La conséquence logique fut une nouvelle extension de la production clandestine.
On estime le nombre de distilleries clandestines pour la seule ville d'Edimbourg à environ 400 contre 8 officielles en 1777

Consommation d'alcool en Ecosse au XVIII siècle

La consommation d'alcool à l'époque était très importante. Ainsi le whisky était consommé en plus de la bière et du vin. La consommation "normale" était de l'ordre d'un dram (1/3 de pinte) à 60% par jour.
Les progrès techniques ont à l'époque amené une nette amélioration de la qualité, permettant de boire le whisky à l'état pur, et non plus comme auparavant, sous forme de punch ou de cordial (c'est à dire avec des ajouts d'herbes aromatiques et de sucre pour pallier le mauvais goût des whiskies de l'époque).

Recrudescence de la production et début de la distillation illégale

Pour des raisons restées assez obscures, 1777 connut une recrudescence de la production officielle de whisky, passant de 350.000 litres à 950.000 litres en 1779. Un des éléments est que les nouvelles distilleries ont continué à produire de l'alcool bon marché fait en grande partie à partir de grains non maltés, pour contrecarrer la part grandissante prise par la distillation "privée".
Des mesures protectionnistes ont également été prises à l'époque à l'encontre des alcools étrangers (cognac et vin) pour protéger l'agriculture locale..
C'est à la même époque que le gouvernement décida d'interdire purement et simplement toute production privée d'alcool, en autorisant les agents des accises à saisir ou détruire tous les alambics privés sur le territoire écossais. Ce fut le début de la guerre contre la distillation désormais devenue illégale.
Ces mesures avaient été précédées deux ans auparavant par une restriction sévère de la taille autorisée pour les alambics "privés" qui ne pouvaient désormais plus dépasser la capacité de production de 10 litres (contre 50 auparavant).

Une des raisons majeures pour le gouvernement pour décider de l'interdiction des alambics privés était son besoin croissant d'argent pour financer la guerre avec les colonies d'Amérique. Une prime était offerte à l'époque à tout qui permettrait de mettre la main sur un alambic de contebande. L'argent de cette prime était bien souvent revitalise pour l'achat ou la fabrication d'alambics neufs. Encore une mesure prise par le gouvernement qui a prouvé son inefficacité dans la lutte contre l'alcool de contrebande.

Amélioration de la situation des distilleries légales

Cependant que les autorités menaient une guerre sans merci contre les distilleries clandestines, les distilleries légales assistaient à une nette amélioration de leur situation. A partir des années 1780 de nombreuses distilleries légales ont vu le jour dans la région de Lowlands.
Deux grandes familles ont surtout bénéficié de cet essor: les Stein (associés aux Haig) et les Philp, propriétaires des distilleries Kilbagie, Kennetpans et Dolls. Kilbagie, appartenant aux Stein allait devenir la plus grande distillerie d'Ecosse, et fut plus tard transformée en une usine à papier qui existe encore de nos jours. A la mêmeépoque les Stein, alliés aux Haig construisirent les distilleries Canonmills et Lochrin à Edimbourg et Kincaple à St Andrews. D'autres distilleries fondées à l'époque sont Blackhall (Alexander Dewar), Underwood et Hattonburn. Ces distilleries devinrent très vite le noyau du tissu économique des Lowlands. Leur production permettait de nourrir le bétail avec les résidus de distillation, et très vite elles furent considérées comme indispensables à l'agriculture locale. De plus, elles offraient des débouchés aux mines de charbon de la région.

Premières exportations de whisky

La production avait pris une telle ampleur que bientôt le marché local ne suffisait plus et les Stein de mirent à explorer les marchés anglais, et vendirent leur whisky aux producteurs de gin qui allaient l'utiliser dans leur assemblage. L'effet pervers fut que la production locale ne suffisait plus, et les importations de grain à partir de l'Angleterre et de l'Europe datent de cette époque.
C'est cette importation qui permit à l'industrie de survivre aux récoltes catastrophiques entre 1782 et 1784 qui entraînaient une famine sur l'ensemble du territoire écossais, et particulièrement dans les Highlands. Malgré cela, les distilleries continuèrent leur production, causant ainsi des émeutes de gens affamés. L'Etat prit fait et cause pour les distilleries, à cause de leur importance économique.

1784: Le Wash Act

Un renforcement des contrôles par l'administration des accises sur les distilleries légales a été rendu possible par le Wash Act de 1784. Cette loi se voulait une simplification de la méthode de taxation utilisée jusqu'ici. En même temps, le niveau des taxes fut considérablement diminué tant en Ecosse qu'en Angleterre, à cause de la fin de la guerre d'Indépendance en Amérique.
Au lieu de taxer les "low wines" et l'alcool produit séparément, la nouvelle loi se contentait de taxer le wash, partant du principe que 5 litres de wash donnaient 1 litre d'alcool entre 55 et 65%. Ce système s'est accompagné d'une intensification des contrôles qui pouvaient dorénavant se faire à n'importe quelle heure du jour et de la nuit.

Un régime de faveur pour les Highlands

Des mesures spéciales ont été prises en faveur des Highlands, en partie pour compenser les conséquences de la disette. Le but était notamment d'encourager les petites distilleries clandestines à rentrer dans la légalité. La loi prévoyait une capacité maximale pour les alambics et n'autorisait la distillation que d'orge locale, et en contre-partie, les taxes étaient fortement diminuées. La taxe sur le malt a même été supprimée. Par contre, toute infraction à cette loi était sévèrement réprimée, et les propriétaires terriens tenus pour responsable des fautes commises par les gens sur leurs terres.
Cette dernière mesure mit les propriétaires terriens hors d'eux. Les producteurs de whisky des Lowlands crièrent également à la discrimination Ce mouvement de protestations obligea le gouvernement à prendre des mesures complémentaires en 1785, interdisant l'exportation du whisky des Highlands (moins fortement taxé) en dehors du territoire, et la responsabilité des propriétaires terriens en cas d'infraction commises sur leurs terres était supprimée.

Une recrudescence de l'alcool de contrebande

L'interdiction d'exporter en dehors des Highlands encouragea une nouvelle fois la contrebande. Le procédé de fabrication des Highlands donnait de nettement meilleurs résultats. La différence entre le whisky des Highlands et celui des Lowlands venait principalement de la différence de forme des alambics. La forme de ceux des Highlands était plus à même de produire des alcools de qualité.

Révolution industrielle

Au début de la révolution industrielle, les distilleries appartenant aux Stein et aux Haig étaient les plus grandes usines (toutes disciplines confondue) sur le territoire écossais.
L'énorme augmentation de la production et de l'exportation vers l'Angleterre eurent comme effet que les producteurs de gin de Londres, qui formaient une élite de gens riches, se sont rebellés. Ceci a donné lieu à une implacable guerre des prix, obligeant les distilleries écossaise à vendre en dessous de leur prix de revient.
Une autre conséquence de l'influence du lobby de producteurs de gin fut une augmentation des taxes sur le whisky en provenance des Lowlands à destination de l'Angleterre.
La réaction des distilleries des Lowlands devant cette subite augmentation de leurs prix de production fut le recours à des techniques de distillation plus rapide leur permettant de produire à moindre coût, mais en faisant d'énormes concessions quant à la qualité de leurs produits.
Il devint vite évident que les whiskies des Highlands étaient obligés d'augmenter leurs prix, à cause de la loi de l'offre et de la demande, même si le commerce était uniquement animé par la contrebande, étant donné l'interdiction faite au whisky des Highlands de franchir la frontière vers le sud.

L'importance économique que représente le whisky pour l'Ecosse trouve son origine à cette époque, qui correspond au début de l'ère capitaliste. Le whisky représentait à l'époque déjà la plus importante industrie du pays.

voir l'histoire du whisky entre 1788 et 1823

> Last modified: May 10 2016 20:32:05.Le comptoir
-
Copyright :Jean-Marie Putz (2003-2017)

Le whisky est un alcool fort, ne l'oublions pas. L'abus d'alcool peut gravement nuire à la santé. Sachons privilégier la qualité par rapport à la quantité. La consommation de boissons alcoolisées pendant la grossesse, même en faible quantité, peut avoir des conséquences graves pour la santé de l'enfant. De même évitez de prendre le volant après avoir consommé du whisky.

Protection de la vie privée: Ce site ne collecte aucune donnée privée. Il est purement statique.

Les notes de dégustation

Les distilleries

Le whisky

Les régions

WDTS: blind tasting sessions Liste de toutes les distilleries La fabrication du whisky Central Highlands , Eastern Highlands, Northern Highlands, Western Highlands
Dégustations récentes Propriétaires des distilleries L'histoire du whisky Speyside
Notes des visiteurs Les indépendants Liste des bouteilles en collection Lowlands
Envoyer vos propres notes Les distilleries dans leur contexte historique Par ordre de préférence Islay
Forum Carte interactive des distilleries Par rapport qualité/prix Les Iles
Copyright Contact Liens Campbeltown
Close