JavascriptSome functions like the list of distilleries or production areas or the possibility to close the publicity areas do not work as Javascript is disabled.


IELogoThere is nothing wrong using IE. But since Internet Explorer - prior to version 9 - does not fully support the last version of CSS, you will miss lots of nice effects and the site could look less nice as expected...
If you want to see the site as it is meant, please try it with Chrome or Firefox or a more recent version of Internet Explorer.

Il n'y a aucun problème à utiliser Internet Explorer. Mais étant donné que IE -jusqu'à la version 9- n'est pas entièrement compatible avec la dernière version de CSS, un certain nombre d'effets esthétiques de ce site ne sont pas disponibles et le site semble moins attractif...
Si vous voulez voir ce site tel qu'il a été conçu, essayez le avec Chrome ou Firefox ou une version plus récente d'Explorer.

enabled

Translation

Close
If you like this site but hate advertisement, please be aware that publicity is the only income vor this site, apart from donations. [an error occurred while processing this directive]

Whisky history

Français | English
see also:

The distilleries in their historical context

Distilleries by creation date, in the historical context: birth and death of celebrities, historical events, etc.

The history of Whisky in Scotland

part 1:

part 2:

from the beginning till 1787

from 1788 till 1823

The Origins


Legal distillation of whisky is rather recent. Official start date of production of legal whisky in Scotland is the promulgation of the "Excise Act" by the Duke of Gordon in 1823. But of course, Scotland did not wait till then to produce their national drink.

History of distillation begins in the ancient Egypt. This technique was used mainly for the production of perfumes.

First traces of distilled barley go back to the XIIth century. In those times, whisky was not considered as a pleasure like nowadays, but people thought it was a marvelous medicine, helping to heal all kinds of diseases. It was used as an ointment and as well as a drink.

The famous historian and chronicler Raphaël Holinshed wrote the following about the results of distillation of malted barley in his "Chronicles of England, Scotland and Ireland" in the XVIth century:

"Being moderately taken,
it slows the age,
it cuts phlegm,
it lightens the mind,
it quickens the spirit,
it cures the dropsy,
it heals the strangulation,
it pounces the stone,
its repels gravel,
it pulls away ventositie,
it keeps and preserves the head from whirling,
the eyes from dazzling,
the tongue from lisping,
the mouth from snuffling,
the teeth from chattering,
the throat from rattling,
the weasan from stiffing,
the stomach from womblying,
the heart from swelling,
the belly from wincing,
the guts from rumbling,
the hands from shivering,
the sinews from shrinking,
the veins from crumpling,
the bones from aching,
the marrow from soaking,
and truly it is a sovereign liquor
if it be orderly taken."

Origin of the name "Whisky"


The name of the "water of life" produced in Scotland and Ireland comes from the Celtic, which has been official languages for ages. Before bearing the name of "whisky" (or whiskey if it is produced in Ireland or in the United States), the drink was called "Uisge Beata", which means "Water of Life" in Celtic. The name evolved to become Usquebaugh, then Uisge and finally Whisky.

Moonshine whisky


Whisky has been produced traditionally by local farmers for ages till the damned day in the XVth century, where Charles I decided to earn a lot of money with this activity. So he decided to tax the production of alcohol on the whole territory. The Scottish parliament closed on his heels very quickly. This had dramatic consequences for the local farmers, and in fact the production of alcoholic beverages was limited to some privileged classes.

This was also the beginning of a great adventure where the law and the local farmers deployed a vivid imagination. Humour was not always absent of this tribulations. For instance, Hellen Cumming, the wife of a moonshine distiller invited systematically the excise agents to have a nice meal when they came around for a control. This let his husband the time to disappear in the surrounding mountains. At a corner of the barn, she used to hang a red flag, which her husband could see from his hiding place. As long as the flag was flying over the barn, he knew the excise men still were present at the farm.

The Cummings decided later to buy a licence and they founded the Cardhu distillery some years later.

The most exciting period for the smugglers was certainly when the excise administration thought to have found a perfect system to dismantle all the illegal distilleries by encouraging denouncement. They decided to give 5 pounds (a real fortune in those days) to anybody who would help them to find illegal stills. Lots of smugglers helped them to find their old rusted stills, and with this money bought new ones. At a certain time, there were about 400 illegal distilleries around Edinburgh, and just 8 legal ones.. The "Excise Act" in 1824 meant progressively the end of moonshine distilling. It took about ten more years, and it was over.

Blended whisky


Scotch whisky is very characteristic, and the taste of it is rather different from one distillery to the other one. For those reasons, the selling of whisky has been confined to Scotland for many years. People outside Scotland were not really interested by this beverages. To be successful on international markets, to major problems had to be solved:

the taste of whisky is very different from one distillery to the other

French Cognac represented a big concurrence

Blended whisky was a solution for the first problem. The principle is a clever proportioning of malts from several distilleries and grain whisky. Grain whisky was made possible by the invention of the Coffey Still.

Phylloxera


The solution to the second problem was found in the major ecologic catastrophe which affected the French vineyards during the second half of the 19th century and destroyed nearly all the vines on the French territory, including the ones used in production of Cognac.

Phylloxera is a microscopic insect living form the sap of vine. This insect arrived from America, and wiped the French vineyards off the map in a few years time. Only the grafting technique could save France from this major catastrophe. The redding technique consisted of grafting French vines on american stocks. The american stocks were insensible for phylloxera. The european vineyards resumed slowly thanks to this technique. But the production of Cognac was reduced to the meanest share.

So water-of-life lovers had to turn towards whisky. But, unlike Cognac (which is in most cases sold as a blend) single malt was still very different according to the producing distillery or region. Standardisation of the taste was then the major challenge for whisky producers, who wanted to take this unique opportunity to sell their product worldwide.

An Irish invention solved that problem.

The Coffey Still

Aeneas Coffey invented a new kind of still, making continuous distilling of grain alcohol a reality. This still is called "Coffey still" or "Patent still". In opposition to the traditional "pot still", is was not made for distilling malted barley.

Aeneas Coffey was an Irish man born in Dublin in 1780. This could rekindle the controversy about the origin of whisky. Both nations fight over the paternity of whisky since ages.

His invention, patented in Ireland in 1830, and still considered as a major contribution of Ireland in the world of innovation, consists of a kind of "warmth exchanger made of two columns called respectively the "analyzer" and the "rectifier".

The functioning of this kind of stills is rather complex.

Unlike malt whisky, grain whisky is distilled in a continuous operation. The invention of the "Patent Still" made distillation of grain and corn possible. Corn is the basic ingredient of american whisky, also known under the name of "bourbon". The way to standardisation of scotch whisky was open.

This made it possible for the scotch industry to put on the market a product able to compete with the French cognac which was in a very bad situation due to the catastrophe of the phylloxera. Blended whisky quickly ousted single malt till recently.

Lots of distilleries exclusively produced whisky for blenders. Some of them were build especially for that purpose.

> Wednesday, 23-Aug-2017 17:14:23 CEST
Mon 11 12 2017, 01:27 - 44 visiteurs au cours de la dernire heure et 1 visiteur sur le site en ce moment.
Copyright :Jean-Marie Putz (2003-2017)


Whisky is an alcoholic drink. Let's prefer quality to quantity as the abuse of alcohol beverages can damage the health. Consuming alcoholic drinks during pregnancy, even in small quantities, can seriously affect the health of the child. Consumption of alcohol impairs your ability to drive a car or operate machinery, and may cause health problems.

This site does not collect any private data from it's visitors. Is is purely static.

The tasting notes

The distilleries

The whisky

The production areas

WDTS: blind tasting sessions List of all distilleries How whisky is made Central Highlands, Eastern Highlands, Northern Highlands,Western Highlands
Recent tastings Distillery owners Whisky history Speyside
Visitors notes The independent bottlers All the bottles in collection Lowlands
Post your own notes The distilleries in their historical context By order of preference Islay
Interactive map of the distilleries By order of value for money Campbeltown
Copyright Contact Links The Isles
Close

JavaScript Logo Un certain nombre de fonctions comme la liste des distilleries ou des régions, ainsi que la possibilité de fermer les fenêtres publicitaires ne fonctionnent pas parce que JavaScript est désactivé.

IELogoThere is nothing wrong using IE. But since Internet Explorer - prior to version 9 - does not fully support the last version of CSS, you will miss lots of nice effects and the site could look less nice as expected...
If you want to see the site as it is meant, please try it with Chrome or Firefox or a more recent version of Internet Explorer.

Il n'y a aucun problème à utiliser Internet Explorer. Mais étant donné que IE -jusqu'à la version 9- n'est pas entièrement compatible avec la dernière version de CSS, un certain nombre d'effets esthétiques de ce site ne sont pas disponibles et le site semble moins attractif...
Si vous voulez voir ce site tel qu'il a été conçu, essayez le avec Chrome ou Firefox ou une version plus récente d'Explorer.

enabled

Translation

Close
Si vous avez aimé ce site mais que vous avez horreur de la réclame, sachez que la publicité représente les seuls revenus de ce site, mis à part les donations. [an error occurred while processing this directive]

L'histoire du whisky

English | Français

voir aussi:

Les distilleries replacées dans leur contexte historique

Une page est consacrée à la chronologie de la création des distilleries, replacées dans leur contexte historique: naissance et mort de personnages célèbres, événements historiques, etc... Cette page permet de se faire une idée plus imagée de l'histoire des distilleries. N'hésitez pas à consulter cette page chronologique....

L'histoire du whisky en Ecosse

Première partie:

Seconde partie:

des débuts à 1787

de 1788 à 1823

Les Origines


Si la distillation légale du whishy ne remonte qu'au début du XIXème siècle (en 1823 avec la promulgation de l'"Excise Act" par le Duc de Gordon), l'histoire du whisky est nettement plus ancienne.
L'histoire de la distillation remonte à l'Egypte ancienne, où cette technique était principalement utilisée dans l'art de la parfumerie.
On retrouve les premières traces d'orge distillé au XIIème siècle. Le whisky n'était à l'époque pas utilisé en tant qu'instrument de plaisir comme c'est le cas à l'heure actuelle, mais on lui prêtait toutes sortes de qualités thérapeutiques et on l'utilisait tant sous forme de boisson que d'onguent.
Raphaël Holinshed, chroniqueur et historien du XVIème siècle écrivait ce qui suit à propos du résultat de la distillation de l'orge maltée à propos du whisky dans ses "Chroniques d'Angleterre, d'Ecosse et d'Irlande":

"Pris modérément,
il ralentit l'âge,
il chasse la toux,
il éclaircit l'esprit,
il soigne l'hydropisie,
il guérit la strangulation,
il dissout la pierre et repousse la gravelle,
il chasse la mélancolie,
il protège et préserve la tête de tourner,
les yeux d'être éblouis,
la langue de zézayer,
la bouche de gargouiller,
les dents de claquer,
la gorge de racler,
la trachée de se durcir,
l'estomac de se contracter,
le coeur de gonfler,
le ventre de se crisper,
les intestins de gronder,
les mains de trembler,
les tendons de se raccourcir,
les veines de se rétrécir,
les os de se déformer,
la moelle de se liquéfier,
et c'est en vérité une liqueur souveraine
si elle est prise systématiquement."

La traduction originale de ce texte est de Mr Jean Donnay (www.celtic-whisky.com) et est reproduite ici avec son aimable autorisation.

Voir le texte original, dont la traduction française se trouve ci-dessus: cliquez ici

L'origine du nom "Whisky"


Le nom de l'eau-de-vie d'orge produite en Ecosse et en Irlande provient du celtique, langue officielle de ces deux pays durant des siècles. Avant de s'appeler Whisky (ou Whiskey s'il est produit en Irlande ou aux Etats-Unis), cette boisson était d'abord nommée "Uisge Beata", ce qui signifie "Eau de Vie" en Celte. Le nom a évolué pour devenir Usquebaugh, puis Uisge et enfin Whisky.

Le whisky clandestin


Le whisky a été traditionnellement produit par les paysans locaux durant de très nombreuses années jusqu'à ce jour maudit du XVème siècle où le roi d'Angleterre Charles 1er se dit qu'il y avait là beaucoup d'argent à gagner pour la couronne. Il décida donc de taxer la production d'alcool sur tout le territoire. Le parlement Ecossais lui emboîta rapidement le pas, limitant de la sorte le droit de distiller à quelques classes priviligiées.

Ce fut le début d'une grande aventure mêlée d'épisodes tragi-comiques. Une grande histoire de gendarmes et de voleurs, où ces derniers avaient souvent le bon rôle. Il faut dire qu'il ne manquaient souvent pas d'humour. Ainsi cette femme de fermier, Hellen Cumming qui invitait systématiquement les inspecteurs des accises à un bon repas, de façon à laisser le temps à son contrebandier de mari John de s'échapper dans les collines avoisinantes après avoir attaché un drapeau rouge au coin de la grange. Tant que les douaniers étaient dans la maison, John savait qu'il n'avait pas intérêt à redescendre de ses collines, et il attendait simplement que son épouse enlève le drapeau, signe du départ des fonctionnaires...

Les Cumming se décidèrent à acheter leur licence de distillation et fondèrent la distillerie Cardhu quelques années plus tard.

L'époque bénite pour les contrebandiers était celle où les administrateurs des accises avaient inventé un système infaillible pour démanteler les distilleries clandestines. Ils offraient une somme de 5 livres (une fortune à l'époque) à toute personne leur permettant de mettre la main sur un serpentin en cuivre servant à la distillation. Combien de distillateurs clandestins se ainsi offert de nouveaux alambics en échangeant leurs vieux serpentins rouillés... A une époque Edimbourg comptait 400 distilleries clandestines contre 8 au grand jour.... La promulgation du "Excise Act" en 1824 mit peu à peu fin à la pratique de la distillation clandestine.

Le blend


La consommation du whisky écossais, à cause du fort caractère de celui-ci et de la diversité de goûts d'une distillerie à l'autre est fort longtemps resté confiné à l'Ecosse, et ses ventes ont eu énormément de mal à se développer en dehors de ses frontières. Pour attaquer les marchés étrangers, il y avait deux obstacles importants:

Le goût du whisky diffère beaucoup d'une distillerie à l'autre

Le whisky avait affaire à une très forte concurrence de la part du Cognac Français

Le blended whisky, qui allait sauver l'industrie écossaise, est un savant mélange de single malts de diverses distilleries et de whisky de grain, obtenu grâce à l'invention de l'alambic de type Coffey.

Le phylloxera


Le malheur des uns faisant souvent le bonheur des autres, la catastrophe sans nom qui s'est abattue sur le vignoble français dans la seconde moitié du 19ème siècle a détruit pratiquement toutes les vignes, y compris celles servant à la production du Cognac.

Le phylloxera est un insecte microscopique se nourrissant de la sève des pieds de vigne. Cet insecte est arrivé d'Amérique et a rayé de la carte en quelques années l'ensemble du vignoble européen. Ce n'est que grâce à la technique de greffage de cépages européens sur des pieds de vigne américaines (insensibles au phylloxera) que le vignoble européen a petit à petit pu être ressuscité. Bref, la production de Cognac était réduite à sa portion congrue.

Du coup, les amateurs d'eau-de-vie se sont tournés vers le whisky. Cependant, à la différence du Cognac (qui est dans la plupart des cas le résultat d'un savant mélange d'alcools originaires de divers producteurs afin de standardiser le goût), le whisky Single Malt présente d'énormes différences de goût selon la région et le producteur. Pour espérer aller à la conquête du marché ouvert par la catastrophe qui a affecté le Cognac, il était impératif de standardiser le produit pour l'exportation.

Une invention irlandaise allait permettre de résoudre ce problème:

L'alambic de type Coffey


En 1831, Aeneas Coffey inventa un nouveau type d'alambic, permettant la distillation en continu d'alcool de grain. Ce type d'alambic est nommé "Patent Still" ou "Coffey Still", et contrairement au traditionnel "Pot Still", il n'était pas destiné à la distillation d'orge malté.

Aeneas Coffey était un irlandais né à Dublin en 1780 . Ceci pourrait relancer la polémique concernant l'origine géographique du whisky.... (Les deux nations se en effet disputent la paternité du whisky depuis des générations.)

Son invention consistant en un "échangeur de chaleur" a été brevetée en Irlande en 1830. et est considérée comme une des contributions majeures de l'Irlande au monde de l'invention et des innovations. Aeneas Coffey est mort en 1852. L'alambic de type "Patent" ou "Coffey" est constitué de deux grandes colonnes nommées respectivement "analyseur" et "rectificateur".

Le fonctionnement de ce type d'alambic est assez complexe.

A la différence du whisky de malt, le whisky de grain est distillé par une opération continue. L'invention du "Patent Still" a permis la distillation de whisky de grain ou de maïs (entrant dans la fabrication du whisky américain, connu sous le nom de bourbon), et d'ouvrir la porte à la standardisation du whisky écossais, avec l'introduction du blended whisky.

Ceci a permis à l'industrie écossaise de mettre sur le marché un produit à caractéristiques constantes, qui pouvait aisément rivaliser avec le cognac en pleine déconfiture à cause de la catastrophe du phylloxera Très vite le blend a pris le pas sur le single malt, et ce n'est que ces dernières années qu'on assiste à un regain d'intérêt pour le single malt.

Le succès fut tel qu'un bon nombre de distilleries ont produit exclusifement pour les assembleurs, ou même furent construite spécialement pour fournir la matière première aux blenders.


> Tuesday, 22-Aug-2017 16:40:07 CEST
Fri 22 09 2017, 06:32 - 59 visiteurs au cours de la dernire heure et 4 visiteurs sur le site en ce moment.
Copyright :Jean-Marie Putz (2003-2017)

Le whisky est un alcool fort, ne l'oublions pas. L'abus d'alcool peut gravement nuire à la santé. Sachons privilégier la qualité par rapport à la quantité. La consommation de boissons alcoolisées pendant la grossesse, même en faible quantité, peut avoir des conséquences graves pour la santé de l'enfant. De même évitez de prendre le volant après avoir consommé du whisky.

Protection de la vie privée: Ce site ne collecte aucune donnée privée. Il est purement statique.

Les notes de dégustation

Les distilleries

Le whisky

Les régions

WDTS: blind tasting sessions Liste de toutes les distilleries La fabrication du whisky Central Highlands , Eastern Highlands, Northern Highlands, Western Highlands
Dégustations récentes Propriétaires des distilleries L'histoire du whisky Speyside
Notes des visiteurs Les indépendants Liste des bouteilles en collection Lowlands
Envoyer vos propres notes Les distilleries dans leur contexte historique Par ordre de préférence Islay
Forum Carte interactive des distilleries Par rapport qualité/prix Les Iles
Copyright Contact Liens Campbeltown
Close